“Waiting On” Wednesday: Such Wicked Intent

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

I looooove Frankenstein – books, movies, cartoons, socks – well, you know.  One of my favorite movies was a hideous version that had Jane Seymour in it.  She had her head cut off and Dr. Frankenstein sewed it back on and put a black choker over it to hide the seam.  Gross, right?  It was so schlocky, it was awesome.  I’ve been looking for more books from a male POV and I saw Petra from Safari Poet put together a Goodreads shelf with exactly that and *gasp* there was a YA Frankenstein book!  Well, it was this one which is technically the second in the series so I had to go back and buy the first one so like pretty much always, I’m way behind on reading, but I’m really excited about this one.  I have until August to finish the first one anyway which might be doable.

Such Wicked IntentSuch Wicked Intent: The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, Book 2

By Kenneth Oppel
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 21, 2012
Genre: Young Adult Gothic Thriller

When does obsession become madness? Tragedy has forced sixteen-year-old Victor Frankenstein to swear off alchemy forever. He burns the Dark Library. He vows he will never dabble in the dark sciences again—just as he vows he will no longer covet Elizabeth, his brother’s betrothed.

If only these things were not so tempting.

When he and Elizabeth discover a portal into the spirit world, they cannot resist. Together with Victor’s twin, Konrad, and their friend Henry, the four venture into a place of infinite possibilities where power and passion reign. But as they search for the knowledge to raise the dead, they unknowingly unlock a darkness from which they may never return.

Goodreads Summary

Since Jill was late putting Linky up, everyone who stops by can grab a cookie!

Comments

  1. whatireadyesterday says:

    Looks wonderful!!!!

  2. This looks like the kind of book I need in my life! Can’t wait!

    My WoW: http://www.pocketfulofbooks.com/2012/04/waiting-on-wednesday_18.html

  3. A Frankenstein retelling. Could there be anything better?

    Patricia // My WOW

  4. I have the first book on my shelf and love the sound of the series.

    My WOW
    Safari Poet

  5. Wow! I had no idea there was a series about Victor Frankenstein from S&S. I so want to read this one now. And what a gorgeous cover!

    Check out my WoW

  6. Haven’t read the first book nor heard of this series. *.* Bloody hell, it looks perfect.

    Aleksandra and her WoW

  7. What a beautiful looking book!! Sounds interesting. Thank you for sharing 😀

    Ashley @ Shades Of Yellow/ My WoW

  8. I’ve been meaning to read the first book for awhile, looks good!

    Our WoW is at Book Sake. –Jessica

  9. This does sound interesting.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Dani
    http://paulettespapers.com/?p=1957

  10. How do you find all of these books I’ve never seen or heard of before?! You’re look a WoW ninja or something.

    I’m always up for a cookie!

    Oh, and I’ll be adding this to my TBR. It looks good!

  11. ok, need to go research book one..cause this sounds good!
    My WoW

  12. I haven’t heard of this series before but I love the sound of the books. This one looks really good! Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    -Allie

    Check out my wow.

  13. I love that it’s described as “young adult gothic thriller”! I don’t think I even knew there was a first one. How intriguing! 🙂

    (Stopping by from WoW a few days late!)

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

