“Waiting On” Wednesday: Crewel (Crewel World #1)

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Can I just sit and gasp over that cover for a while?  I love the juxtaposition of the pretty, swirly colors and the sort of spare, slightly futuristic title text. Hey, what a bonus – it sounds incredible. My last pick was about time travel and now I’ve picked a book about a girl with the ability to weave the timelines of other people’s lives. Next week: a psychic blogger who knows how to tell time.

CrewelCrewel (Crewel World #1)

By Gennifer Albin
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux Books for Young Readers
Expected Publication Date: October 16, 2012
Genre: Young Adult Futuristic

Incapable. Awkward. Artless.

That’s what the other girls whisper behind her back. But sixteen year-old Adelice Lewys has a secret: she wants to fail.

Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, she’s exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen as a Spinster is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means the power to embroider the very fabric of life. But if controlling what people eat, where they live and how many children they have is the price of having it all, Adelice isn’t interested.

Not that her feelings matter, because she slipped and wove a moment at testing, and they’re coming for her—tonight.

Now she has one hour to eat her mom’s overcooked pot roast. One hour to listen to her sister’s academy gossip and laugh at her Dad’s stupid jokes. One hour to pretend everything’s okay. And one hour to escape.

Because once you become a Spinster, there’s no turning back.

Goodreads Summary

Comments

  1. This one is very interesting. I wonder if she will escape or become a spinster.
    http://leavemommyalone.blogspot.com

  2. Okay, this is about the 4th time that I have seen this today and even if I hadn’t considered buying it before, I probably would now! 😀

    Patricia // My WOW

  3. I just saw this for the first time on someone else’s blog, it seems so interesting – and YES to the cover! All the colours are absolutely stunning, as is the swirly design; and I love that it seems to illustrate weaving time+matter so well.

    Great pick!
    My WoW | Giveaway

  4. This one is new to me and sounds like a good read!

    Our WoW is at Book Sake. –Jessica

  5. pennywatson says:

    I find it very interesting that the most gorgeous covers are all YA. Regular romance covers are often hideous, but the teenagers get the most amazing covers. What is up with that? This one is incredible….I love it!

  6. Kristin says:

    This series sounds like it is going to be so good. I’m so glad I stopped by and saw this book.

    My WoW@Blood,Sweatandbooks!

  7. I have seen this on a few lists today and I have to admit it does look very intriguing! I love the premise!

    My Wow: http://pocketfulofbooksblogger.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/waiting-on-wednesday.html

  8. I LOVE that cover…and the blurb is so tempting. The themes are intriguing, and I hope you enjoy it!

    Here’s MY WOW POST

  9. Ummm.. is there a cute boy anywhere in this story? Hot guys make any story better… 😉

    Looks good though, adding to my TBR!

  10. Ohh this one is a great pick! Crewel sounds really good! I’m looking forward for this one too~

    Please drop by @ my Waiting on Wednesday post here

    Jay
    We Fancy Books

  11. This one looks different. Loving that synopsis and the cover is unreal. Very pretty. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

    Jennifer @ Dream Reads

  12. Sweeping Me says:

    I must say what a great blurb…WHAT do you do in that hour…woooo. This is so on my MUST get list!

    Mary
    Thanks for stopping by my WOW this week!

  13. Hi,
    I love this book cover!! I will have to check it out, I have seen this on so many sites!!
    Here is mine: http://bellesbookbag.blogspot.com/2012/04/waiting-on-wednesday.html

  14. Ok so this one has caught my attention and I need to pick it up asap! Great pick, I hope you enjoy it! 😀

    My WOW:
    http://www.wordsathome.ca/2012/04/waiting-on-wednesday-this-is-not-a-test.html

  15. This was mine last week! Great pick!! Thanks for stopping by my WoW.

  16. Pretty cover 😀 And it does seem like an interesting book 😉 Hope you’ll love it 🙂
    Thank you for commenting on my mailbox. ❤
    Love, Carina @ Carina’s Books

  17. Love that Crewel seems to be making it’s way around the blogosphere today! I chose it as my WoW as well, and I’m super excited for it to come out. Great pick!

  18. Great pick! I am so excited for this one too. It sounds so good and the cover is gorgeous!

    Thanks for stopping by my post!

  19. Great pick! The book sounds good and I love the cover. Thanks for sharing!

  20. I love the cover. So pretty and awesome. It grabs your attention.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

