Taken at Dusk (Shadow Falls #3)

Taken at DuskBy C.C. Hunter

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Publication Date: April 10, 2012
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal
Source: Netgalley/Publisher

Kylie Galen wants the truth so badly she can taste it. The truth about who her real family is, the truth about which boy she’s meant to be with—and the truth about what her emerging powers mean. But she’s about to discover that some secrets can change your life forever…and not always for the better.

Just when she and Lucas are finally getting close, she learns that his pack has forbidden them from being together. Was it a mistake to pick him over Derek? And it’s not just romance troubling Kylie. An amnesia-stricken ghost is haunting her, delivering the frightful warning, someone lives and someone dies. As Kylie races to unravel the mystery and protect those she loves, she finally unlocks the truth about her supernatural identity, which is far different—and more astonishing—than she ever imagined.

Goodreads Summary

Life at Shadow Falls is continuing mostly the way it has since the end of the first book. Kylie’s relationships with the other students continue to grow, her feelings for Lucas and Derek are confusing and she still has no idea what her paranormal gifts make her. She had some shocking powers manifest in the last book, and in search of answers she meets with the couple who adopted her late father. During the visit, Kylie sees a ghost who cryptically tells her that one will live, one will die.

The meeting ends up being more of a setback than a help and the ghost continues to visit Kylie with the same warning. She’s unable to remember who she is and doesn’t know how she needs to be helped over. I thought Kylie’s dad Daniel was a terribly sad ghost to be haunting her but this poor woman is worse. Some of the things she’s gone through that Kylie has to live through in her visions are horrible. In my review of the last book, I had complained a little because I thought the ghost/warning aspect of the story was the weakest and thought there needed to be some branching out beyond ghosts directly related to Kylie. She did interact with more ghosts this time, some within the main storyline, some not, and it was a nice addition along with Kylie using more of her other paranormal gifts.

Derek left at the end of Awake at Dawn and Lucas used his absence to get closer to Kylie. I don’t think I ever actually chose sides on this potential love triangle but Derek didn’t do much for me in the last book. He doesn’t exactly redeem himself for a good part of this one as he and Kylie struggle to remain just friends. I’m not really sure what to think of Lucas either. He has all the sexy, swoon-y moves down and I love the little reminders that he has this history with Kylie from when they were little kids. Then Derek went and did some nice things and got sort of romantic again and in spite of some of what happened, I liked him again. I give up and am just going to go wherever Hunter leads because I don’t think there’s a good or bad between the two of them.

The thing I love the most about the series is the whole dynamic between all of the members of Shadow Falls. Kylie and her roommates Della and Miranda are so funny and sweet and it’s been just as crazy to watch Miranda and Perry’s romance go up and down as it’s been to watch Kylie, Lucas and Derek go around. Camp leader and counselor Holiday is everyone’s dream big sister and I wish she and Burnett would just get over it and do the deed for cripe’s sake – it’s like watching Moonlighting with those two (that’s a reference probably only the old people will get).  They’re so adorably angsty, if there is such a thing.  Even the nasty members of the camp are growing on me.

Finally – yes – there’s resolution about what Kylie is. I really was shocked by how it all got tied together, but it was right. It almost felt like a big exhale – there are answers, it’s time to turn the page and start resolving some other things Kylie has going on.

My Summary: I’ve been dropping some of my series’ lately because they’ve either stalled or I just can’t work up enough excitement to remember when the next book is coming out. My anticipation for the next Shadow Falls books has been growing each time I finish one. I bought Born at Midnight. I found Awake at Dawn on Netgalley. I stalked the publisher for Taken at Dusk and I might camp out on St. Martin’s doorstep for Whispers at Moonrise.

My Rating: A

Comments

  1. I love this series! And yay for finding out what Kylie is. I think I would have revolted if we’d gone another book and still didn’t know anything. I love the camp setting as well, and the relationships between everyone. And you’re totally right.. Holiday and Burnett just need to do it and get it over with! 😉

    • I always know I like this series but when I start reading, I’m always, “oh yeah, that’s why I LOVE this series.” I agree, it’s so good to find out what Kylie was! i’d have pulled my hair out if I had to wait any longer – it ties up so awesomely, it really did feel like there was some closure and the next book can be about some new things. Like who on EARTH she’s going to end up with, if anyone. Gah!

  2. i haven’t read this series, but your review has me intrigued and i like the cover, I am going to go check out book one.

    • It’s so, so good! If you like the camp or academy type of books, this has that and all of the students are various paranormals – vampires, shifters, fae and more. I really did go begging for this third book, no lie. 😀

  3. I have been so anxious to read this book, even more so since reading your wonderful review!!

    I am so relieved to hear we finally find out what Kylie is..

    Sharon

    • I think you’ll love this one! It really is the best of the three so far and the way Kylie finds out what she is – GUH. Seriously, I finished this and the first thing I did was race over to see when the next book is coming, start calculating who I can start bugging and when. 😀

  4. Great review. This book–along with the rest of the series–sounds amazing.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

