The Wolf Who Loved Me (Westfield Wolves #5)

Lydia Dare

Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: Apr 3, 2012
Genre: Regency Paranormal
Source: Netgalley

A new sexy Regency paranormal trilogy by bestselling author Lydia Dare features hunky werewolves who need to learn how to behave in polite society. Can this pack of ‘gentlemen’ be trained in the ways of the ton, or is it too late to teach an old Lycan new tricks?

Lady Madeline Hayburn is called upon to lend her respectability and introduce the Hadley brothers to society. Mr. Weston Hadley admires her from afar, yet his very presence draws her in…

Goodreads Summary

I can’t recall any historical/regency paranormal romance book that I’ve read where the paranormal element involved is werewolves. Or if I have, it obviously wasn’t that memorable. This is the fifth book in the series, but it’s the first book I’ve read and I had no problem reading it out-of-order. There were couples mentioned from previous books, but I never once felt like I was missing any information vital to this story. I picked this up on a whim, because really.. how can you resist those abs?

Lady Madeline Hayburn is the daughter of a duke, and is expected to make a grand match. She’s now in her third season and the “eligible” bachelors aren’t any more desirable now than they were two seasons ago. Maddie craves passion and love, and knows she won’t find it among the current crop of men vying for her dowry hand. Only one man has really captured her attention, but it’s more of the you-terrify-me sort and less the i-think-you’re-hot sort. Weston Hadley. One of the barely respectable Hadley brothers, a man with a mysterious scar on his face and who looks at Maddie like he wants to devour her whole.

Weston Hadley has admired Maddie from afar for three years, and wishes he had the means to be a viable option for her hand in marriage. As he’s not, he’s tried to be content with watching her across the room and perhaps dancing with her occasionally at a ball. Not only is Weston poor and lacking a title, he’s also a werewolf and has no desire to drag Maddie into that lifestyle. The choice, however, is taken away from him when Maddie stumbles upon him during a full moon and Wes has no choice but to whisk her away to Scotland for an emergency marriage ceremony. Wes must protect the members of his pack and if Maddie’s fate is tied to his as his wife, she’ll have no choice but to keep her knowledge to herself. It’s only a bonus that every fantasy he’s ever had of making her his is now coming true.

This book was a few firsts for me. First time for the werewolves, of course (in a regency setting anyway), and the first time where the heroine is rich and titled and the hero is not. The journey to Scotland was quite hilarious, and we see how incompatible the Wes and Maddie really are. Maddie has never traveled so rough and has always had every comfort available to her, from the best lodging and meals to clean baths every night wherever she’s staying. Having no money, Wes isn’t capable of providing any of that and even has to borrow money from the coachman to provide the most basic necessities. Maddie is a bit of a snob about it all, and I’m not sure if it ever bothered Wes. That’s true love right there, folks. I certainly couldn’t have loved Maddie, that’s for sure. In fact, I enjoyed everything about the story except for her. She had a few honest and sincere moments, but for the majority of the book she was whiney and awful. But Wes only felt bad for the fact that she couldn’t life in the lifestyle she was accustomed too, and that even as his wife she wouldn’t have everything she’s had as a duke’s daughter. He figures out how to work around that in the end, but for awhile there he was uncertain as to how he was even going to clothe her. Normally in regency romances it’s the other way around, where the heroine is poor, but beautiful or sweet and the man is titled and rich. It was kind of refreshing to read a book from a different perspective.

My favorite parts of the story were the Hadley brothers and their mischief. The scrapes they managed to get into were hilarious, and I enjoyed the relationship between them all. They were barely respectable, and couldn’t bring themselves to care all that much about it. They had fun, and in the end Maddie decided she’d rather have that in her marriage than money and an abundance of dresses. That’s when Maddie started to win me over, and she went from a snob to a heroine I could get behind.

My Summary: This book was light, cute and fun and was exactly what I needed. I will definitely be going back through the other books in the series, and I look forward to reading about Wes’ two brothers and their stories. I loved the humor and situations that the characters managed to get themselves into. It was like watching one of those old slapstick comedies, where absolutely nothing goes right for the characters. I finished the book with a smile on my face, and I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

My Rating: B+

Comments

  1. Ah yes, those abs….

    I was just looking at my TBR list this morning and thinking I’d rather be reading a historical but I don’t know if I have one. I’d never have guessed this was a sort of light-hearted one by the cover, but it sounds fun and I like the werewolf thing. Rawr.

    I don’t recall you telling me you liked this one. Bad Cait!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

