“Waiting On” Wednesday: What I Didn’t Say

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

I’m pretty sure that when I’m old and gray, I’ll still be reading YA books. There’s just something about how intensely young teens feel everything that makes reading their love stories so enjoyable. I’ve never read anything by this author, but I saw this and knew I would have to give this a try. A hero that can’t speak?! I can’t wait to see how the characters overcome this challenge. This has to be good!

Keary Taylor

Publication Date: Apr 24, 2012
Genre: Yount Adult Contemporary

Getting drunk homecoming night your senior year is never a good idea, but Jake Hayes never expected it all to end with a car crash and a t-post embedded in his throat.

His biggest regret about it all? What he never said to Samantha Shay. He’s been in love with her for years and never had the guts to tell her. Now it’s too late. Because after that night, Jake will never be able to talk again.

When Jake returns to his small island home, population 5,000, he’ll have to learn how to deal with being mute. He also finds that his family isn’t limited to his six brothers and sisters, that sometimes an entire island is watching out for you. And when he gets the chance to spend more time with Samantha, she’ll help him learn that not being able to talk isn’t the worst thing that could ever happen to you. Maybe, if she’ll let him, Jake will finally tell her what he didn’t say before, even if he can’t actually say it.

Goodreads Summary

Comments

  1. i haven’t heard of this one before but sounds like a lovely YA contemp read! awesome pick 🙂

    my WoW for this week.

    -michelle

  2. Sounds good, thanks for the suggestion! Please check out my Wow!

  3. What I didn’t say looks really good! Here’s my WoW!

    http://paigebradish1996.blogspot.com/2012/03/waiting-on-wednesday_28.html

    ~Paige @ Comfort Books

  4. HI,
    This sounds sooo good!! I love these kinds of stories. I am going to add it to my TBR pile. Thanks for sharing!! New follower.
    Here is mine: http://bellesbookbag.blogspot.com/2012/03/waiting-on-wednesday_27.html
    Mariann at Belle’s Book Bag

  5. This one is new to me, but it’s on my list now. It sounds like a nice concept! Thanks for mentioning this one 😀

    My pick:
    http://thedailyprophecy.blogspot.com/2012/03/waiting-on-wednesday-8-juliet-marillier.html

  6. This sounds like a really interesting read. Thanks for sharing.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

