Hunger Games: The Movie Experience

I did it. I went to the midnight showing of the movie. I had a few friends that were going, and I caved under peer pressure and went despite the fact that I have an 18mo munchkin that wakes up at 7am every day without fail. We even made t-shirts for the big event, and they looked pretty rad if I do say so myself. So please forgive me if this post is a little less than coherent, since I’m a little tired. Okay, a lot tired. I’m too old for these late nights out, but all the waiting in line for a good seat and the lack of sleep were SO freakin’ worth it. The moved ROCKED y’all!

Actors/Casting: The only doubt I really had before going into the movie was Josh Hutcherson, who played Peeta. He wasn’t quite what I imagined Peeta to look like from the descriptions in the book. Frankly, he’s short and I thought it was weird that Katniss would be taller than him. However, Suzanne Collins was 100% behing the casting, and I figure she’s the author so I better get on board. And boy, did I. He was an amazing Peeta! Perhaps he didn’t have the physical characteristics, but he was Peeta in spirit and that’s really all that matters. I thought everyone was perfectly cast, and I honestly can’t think of anyone I’d choose to do differently. Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss was amazing, and Stanley Tucci did a perfect Caesar Flickerman. There were no awkward acting moments, and everyone was completely brilliant. And can I just say, Liam Hemsworth is totally drool worthy! I wish there would have been a shirtless scene, but alas,

Costumes: I was REALLY looking forward to this. I loved all the descriptions in the book, and I couldn’t wait to see it in real life. I can only imagine how much fun the make-up artists and costume designers had in this movie. All the crazy weird descriptions (skin died pea green, really?) in the book were brought to life, and they look great. Caesar (Stanely Tucci) had his blue hair, and Effie Trinket (Elizabeth Banks) was JUST how I envisioned her to be in the book. I seriously hope they get some awards for this, since it’s some of the best costume work I’ve seen in awhile.

Overall Opinion: There is a lot of pressure on these book-to-movie adaptations, especially with a book with as big of a following as this one. Sometimes the movie doesn’t always measure up to the story we’ve built and pictured in our head. Yeah, they left some parts of the book out in the movie. Yeah, they changed a few of the details. Yeah, I thought the ending was a little rushed, especially when I wasn’t read for it to end. But the movie followed closely enough with the book that I don’t really care. There weren’t any major flaws, and I was able to just enjoy it and appreciate it for what it is. I was completely entertained, one of my favorite books was brought to life in an amazing way and I enjoyed a girls’ night out with some friends. I loved the movie, and I will definitely go see it in theaters again and I will definitely be buying it to watch over and over again.

I hope y’all are able to go see it this weekend, if you haven’t already, and once you do you’ll have to come back and let me know what you think!

Comments

  1. juliabarrett says:

    Just great! I can’t wait. Going as soon as I have a free evening! Sounds so yummy and I adore Jennifer Lawrence

    • Jennifer Lawrence did such an amazing job. Did you know that she spent months training with an olympic archer to prepare for the role? I love that she was so dedicated to the role!

  2. So at the risk of being pelted with rotten tomatoes (or worse), I’m admitting that I haven’t read the books. It sounds like I ought to though – maybe by the time I get done with them all this will be on DVD or On Demand and I can watch it.

    You were a brave, brave woman to go see it right away!

  3. I LOVE it as well!!!! 😀 The only thing I wish they did different is the ending. I wouldve like it to be like the book a little more. But I’m seeing it again hehe 😀

    • I know, the ending was a little strange. It was so rushed! And they left out Peeta’s leg, and the whole scene on the hover craft where she’s banging on the door and screaming his name.. that was one of my favorite parts of the whole book! Oh well. I guess I can’t have everything, huh?

  4. I’ve been hearing mostly great things about the movie adaptation, so I’m excited! I have to admit that I had my own qualms about Josh Hutcherson as Peeta (and Lenny Kravitz as Cinna), but I’m glad to hear it worked for you! It gives me faith, lol.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

