Goddess Interrupted (Goddess Test #2)

Goddess InterruptedBy Aimee Carter

Publisher: HarlequinTeen
Publication Date: March 27, 2012
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal
Source: Netgalley

Kate Winters has won immortality.

But if she wants a life in the Underworld with Henry, she’ll have to fight for it.

Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.

As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.

Henry’s first wife, Persephone.

Goodreads Summary

I’m fairly certain my Classic Mythologies professor from college doesn’t read the blog (okay, completely certain), so I’m comfortable admitting that I’m okay with authors having their way with mythology as long as they haven’t made my eyes bug out. The Goddess Test was one of the first in that initial wave of YA Greek treatments and I remember Carter got some grief for her twist on things. I thought it was a little weird, but I wasn’t a stickler for the mythology and liked the characters and their relationships enough that it barely missed an A rating. This has more elements of mythology, if a little twisted, but there were things missing.

After six months exploring Greece with her friend and fellow god, James, Kate is returning to Henry for her next six months in the Underworld. Kate expects a warm welcome from the husband she loves but gets a cold brush-off instead. With a tepid assurance from Henry that he wants her to stay, she agrees to go on with her coronation ceremony, but it’s interrupted by an attack on the immortals that seems especially aimed at Kate. In the thick of battle, Henry and two of his brothers are taken hostage by the King of the Titans.

Calliope, one of the other immortals, is in love with Henry and in The Goddess Test, did some (really) bad stuff and got herself banned into another realm. She’s escaped and freed the King of the Titans – as sort of the “parents” of the immortals, they’re the only beings that have the power to hurt or kill them. She’s convinced him that she can get him something he wants and in exchange, she’ll get what she wants.

Kate tries to get together a rescue group together from the remaining immortals, but not a single one of them raises their hands. They’re all afraid to go after Cronus, which leaves it up to Kate. To get to where Henry is being held, she has to find Persephone and bring her back into his life, not something she’s thrilled with since she suspects he’s still in love with her and would throw her over in a hot second to be with Persephone again.

This feels like a relationship story that’s a bridge between books rather than a full-bodied novel. There was a minimum of action, Kate’s insecurities and whether or not she wanted to stay with Henry and Persephone and her relationships with everyone, especially Henry. I know it’s the downside of coming into any series after the first book, but with some characters especially (like Diana, Kate and Persephone’s mother), without the full background, some things won’t mean the same thing.  Other than Cronus, the only real new character added to the book is Persephone and she’s just as repulsive, snotty, catty, selfish and self-absorbed as I expected.  Not that I want to give the impression that I didn’t like her or anything.

My Summary: I was disappointed with the unresolved/non-action part of the story, but I know there needs to be a running start at the action for the final book, The Goddess Inheritance. I’ll even agree that Henry and Kate needed a good emotional book to get their act together and figure out if they were going to be married to each other or what. My issues when reading came from the pretty literal circular action – I really don’t like it when characters walk days in various directions just so they can have meaningful conversations, I come across this far too much – and I felt a little lost with some characters that I suddenly don’t like anymore. Post-read, I can only say that I came away thinking that I had to really recommend that you read The Goddess Test before this because not only is it a good book that explains the mythology of the series and how Kate got here, but you’ll have a much better perspective on all of the players.

And the cliffhanger – can you hear me yelling? Because I am.

My Rating: B-

(There’s also a novella, The Goddess Hunt, that comes directly after The Goddess Test and takes place during James and Kate’s time in Greece)

Comments

  1. Ugh, this book. This SERIES.

    Other than Cronus, the only real new character added to the book is Persephone and she’s just as repulsive, snotty, catty, selfish and self-absorbed as I expected.

    Aaaaand that was my issue with the book, honestly. Lack of action aside (and wasn’t that frustrating? Here, Kate, just chill in my palace while the rest of us go FIGHT FOR THE FATE OF THE WORLD, because you’re functionally useless), all of the women in this book were awful caricatures (although Persephone was give a tad more sympathy than I expected), and that’s frustrating. Instead of creating a book where female characters could bond, they’re all petty and competitive, and forced to continually fuck one another over because OMG WE LOVES THE MEN!

    I’m just sick of reading books where girls are always in competition for the dick, and the Goddess series is pretty much built on that idea u.u

    • I ❤ you so much! This was just wandering around pining over Henry. Let me kidnap Henry because I want him so much. Then sitting at the palace pining for Henry. Then let me show Henry what he wants. sigh I think I liked it more than you (haha), but this book just didn't feel like it had any substance because nothing at all happened. It's a set-up book but a frustrating one.

      • lol wasn’t it? Kate pretty much lived in her head! Her nega-self-esteem was pretty trying, too. On the upside, at least they progressed in the relationship, so maybe she won’t spend so much time doing that anymore…

        Yep, very much an in-betweener. And OMG that ending! I need to shank someone now. How was the Goddess Hunt, btw? More action-packed?

        • I don’t know if you ever read Kagawa’s Iron Fey series – Goddess Hunt reminded me of the little novellas that she’d put between her full-sized books. They were always little stories that didn’t really have anything to do with anything other than moving the characters from one place to another and they had action that never impacted anything. It was sort of a standalone thing probably meant to lure readers in.

          It had some action and was sort of fun but it was James and when I went into it knowing what I did about him…eh.

  2. Okay, sooo… judging by the review and comments, I think I’ll take a pass on this series. I’m in a low supply of patience for weak heroines who just sit around pining. Or maybe I’ll wait until the last book comes out and see if it redeems the series any. If it ends well, I may give it a shot.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

