Rules of Negotiation

Rules of NegotiationBy Inara Scott

Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Publication Date: February 14, 2012
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: Publisher

She made all the rules…

After juggling the demands of her career and the stress of caring for her ailing mother, high-powered corporate attorney Tori Anderson doesn’t have time for relationships—but that doesn’t mean she doesn’t want to feel like a woman. When Brit Bencher, NYC’s most eligible bachelor, offers a no-strings attached fling, it sounds like exactly what she needs. But what will she do when her Brit decides he won’t take “one night stand” for an answer?

…until he started breaking them.

Brit Bencher will do anything to take care of his family, even seduce Tori Anderson in the hopes of getting her to reveal confidential information about one of her clients. But for the first time in his life, he finds he’s falling for a woman. When Tori uncovers his lies, will he lose his chance with her forever?

Goodreads Summary

This is my second book from this author, and after having a pleasant experience the first time around, I was genuinely looking forward to reading Rules of Negotiation. I’d been craving a bit of a legal romance, and I had hoped this book would hit the spot. I guess I went into it expecting a Julie James novel, and perhaps that’s where I went wrong. This book was a bit bland for me. There wasn’t anything intrinsically wrong with the book, it just wasn’t that memorable. It was a bit predictable, and the characters were types I’ve seen often during my reading.

Tori is a lawyer fighting for survival in a predominantly male profession, who believes her career defines her. She comes with a bit of baggage, and finds it difficult to leave behind even though this man she’s fallen in love with makes her feel wanted and needed. Brit (love that name by the way!) is extrememly business savvy, but a little slow when it comes to his personal relationships. Even with those of his siblings, who he feels a certain paternal responsibility for as his parents are a little.. spacy. Brit becomes involved with Tori because he thinks she is the last saving grace for his depressed younger sister. One of her very important clients, a very reclusive important client, heads up the company his sister desperately wants to work for. Tori figures out the deception and plays mad for awhile, until she ultimately succumbs to his sexy charm. Enter Tori’s baggage. Brit decides that he wants more than just a fling, and Tori can’t handle the pressure and bails. Then there is the obligatory separation where each party lives in agony, thinking it’s the best way when really if one (cough Tori cough) would just compromise, it’d all work out just fine.

See what I mean? Rules of Negotiation was good, it was. I wasn’t rolling my eyes or agonizing myself during the read. It was just.. all right. I actually read this book a couple of weeks ago, but have struggled with writing the review. These types of reviews are always the hardest to write for me. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t anything to gush over either. Maybe the creative muse has abandoned me, but I’m not sure how much more to expand on that.

My Summary: A quick but predictable read, Rules of Negotiation was entertaining for the few hours I spent with it, but I probably won’t be re-reading it anytime soon. I will say that it did satisfy my craving for a legal romance, even if it wasn’t as enthralling as I would have liked. That’s a bonus, I guess. 😉

My Rating: C+

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

