Oracle’s Moon (Elder Races #4)

Oracle's MoonBy Thea Harrison

Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: March 6, 2012
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: Purchased

As a second daughter, Grace Andreas never had to worry about the intrigues of the Elder Races. But when her sister, Petra, and Petra’s husband are both killed, Grace inherits the Power and responsibilities of the Oracle of Louisville, as well as her sister’s two young children – neither of which she is prepared for.

Yet, she is not alone. Khalil, Demonkind and Djinn prince of House Marid – driven by his genuine caring for the children – has decided to make himself a part of the household both as their guardian and as an exasperating counterpoint to Grace’s impudence toward the Elder Races.

But when an attempt is made on Grace’s life, she realizes that Khalil is the only one who can protect her – and offer her more than a mortal man…

Goodreads Summary

Well, this is going to be, and already is, a very popular book and has been reviewed a lot of times. That’s not stopping me, obviously, but I decided I’d just go over the good and maybe a couple of places in the book that I think might lead to trouble in the next book to sort of give you something different, try to just step back and keep it objective for a series I love.

Oh what the heck.

Squeeeeee! Ohmygosh! I am sincerely holding back a few happy swear words – Cait knows, they sort of slip out sometimes.

Okay, got that out. Whew. This still isn’t going to be a giant review because I think probably everyone and their mother, sister, aunt and kitten is going to do one of those, but I hope it’ll give you an idea of what’s going on and help you decide if you want to pick it up.

I can’t even tell you how loud the breath was I exhaled when I realized how good this was as I was reading. I didn’t not like Storm’s Heart, but it didn’t excite me and the ending felt unresolved. I actively was unhappy with Serpent’s Kiss and where it ended and the glimpse of Grace in it wasn’t exactly promising. Khalil had been sort of a crabby-pants for most of the book too. Thea Harrison is still a must-buy, but maybe it was a side-eye cringing must-buy this time.

The romance between Khalil and Grace is completely yum – he adores the kids (who are so sweet, not plot moppets at all) and he does things with her that he’s never done before, sort of making him a kind of virgin which is so sexy. There’s a giant issue about his immortality which leads to the really interesting paranormal part of the story. Like Pia’s accepting what she was in Dragon Bound, Grace may have found a way to actually become the Oracle rather than channeling it like all of her female ancestors have always done. Khalil’s damaged, insane daughter Phaedra is part of her discovery. What it seems to do mostly is get her targeted for assassination, something Khalil doesn’t…take well.

Dragos appears here a couple of times setting up a situation for the next book, which is another one dedicated to him and Pia. I’m looking side-eyed at it and hoping.

My Summary: In case you didn’t catch it from earlier, I thought this book was wonderful, definitely second best in the series to Dragon Bound which was in my top 5 books of 2011. It’s not going to make that sort of list this year but it really was an excellent book, more than capable of being one to be re-read, definitely one to wash the taste of Serpent’s Kiss out of my head. Grace and Khalil are a funny, sweet, sexy couple and I hope we see more of them soon, I really want to see how their relationship plays out. Let me have one more: squeeeee!

My Rating: A

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

