Deep Dark Secret (Secret McQueen #3)

Deep Dark SecretBy Sierra Dean

Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Publication Date: March 6, 2012
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: Author

The only good Secret is a buried Secret.

“Secret McQueen, Book 3”

Secret McQueen has hunted vampires, werewolves, and every conceivable supernatural menace-to-society. Seen it all? Not even close. When the queen of the were-ocelots comes to her for help finding a missing girl, the half-vampire/half-werewolf soon realizes how much she has to learn about the things that go bump in the night.

The case of the missing cat is one thing. Pile it up with her new duties as a Tribunal Leader, her tenuous position as mate to the king of the Eastern werewolves, and a slew of new (and unwelcome) supernatural abilities, and Secret is once again in familiar territory. “Way” over her head. But for this multitasking half-breed, it’s business as “un”usual.

What knocks her for a loop, though, isn’t her lover’s intoxicating kiss. It’s the missing memories rushing at her from out of nowhere, signaling a rapidly approaching fork in her destiny. Her choice will affect not only her life, but her love.

Warning: Contains a werewolf king with wandering hands, a creepy English professor with nefarious plans, and one hell of an unexpected gala evening at Columbia.

Goodreads Summary

I live in Wisconsin. Sierra lives in Canada. It couldn’t take me more than a few weeks of searching to find her, right? I mean, I know what she looks like and all I have to do is stalk the beauty supply stores and see who’s buying up the nail polish. See, she knows how the series ends, she told me – she may not know how it’s getting there, but she knows how it ends and I swear, with each book, I’m getting colder and colder with my guessing. I may be reduced to my old childhood trick of following her around just yelling, “tell me, tell me, tell me, tell me,” until she either tells me or kills me. The things I do.

In the typical supernatural world of politics, Secret is repaying a debt by investigating the disappearance of the ocelot queen’s niece. In what first appear to be unrelated events, an old lover is charged with several co-eds’ murders, Secret finds someone breaking into a building on the college campus and the professor the ex-lover was the PA for has taken an unusual interest in Secret as she investigates him.

On the personal front, Secret is trying to balance her home life with werewolf lover Desmond and a social life with her other metaphysical mate, King of the Eastern Werewolves, Lucas. They’re trying to provide some sort of united front to settle the pack but word has come that Secret’s uncle is about to attempt a takeover of a Midwest territory and Lucas isn’t content to let Secret just be his girlfriend once in a while anymore. He is his usual, arrogant jerk self and does something permanent that messes with everyone – Holden, Desmond, Secret and even Dominick to some degree are all affected by what he does.

The action in the story is really good, one of the best so far. The idea of “who” the killer is comes at an early point but you’re wondering “how” for a while, especially when it comes to something that happens to Secret, and as it gets revealed it’s creepier and creepier. Parts of the reveal, even before the big showdown, are really some of the weirdest, knocked-me-back scenes yet in the series. There’s some stuff that’s G-R-O-S-S gross along with even more things that are going to have some profound effects on a couple of characters in the next book. The layers keep building.

There’s not a lot of vampire action in this one, but what there is, is pretty cool. Secret wasn’t thrilled to be forced into a seat on the Vampire Tribunal but she completely kicks ass on it. I really hope the next book has more – any day she can make the super-creepy Juan Carlos proud of her, I want extra of. Holden is still assigned to keep an eye on her but he’s not around too much, unfortunately.

I can look past not being particularly in love with Desmond and Lucas (what can I say, Holden and Sig are my guys) and as much as love triangle/quadrangles or million-angles drive me bonkers, I can deal with them on some level as long as everyone’s sort of playing equal, fair or if I can wrap my head around it, with the characters I think I know. I have no idea what to make of the dynamic between any of them now, other than to know it makes me cranky and a bit unhappy. Sig hasn’t even been brought into the mix yet, although what the shirtless hunk of undead hotness will do is always unpredictable. I didn’t love this part of the story so I’m hoping some big gory monster is going to be thinning the hairy part of the herd pretty soon. Sorry! (maybe)

My Summary: I just don’t want to, but I have some mixed feelings about Deep Dark Secret. I just love the characters, this was a great action storyline even if I did miss my vampires and I continue to be so impressed by the way all of the pieces from the stories are all twining into each other. My silly picky heart is just sad about the developments on the romantic front. I’m going to have to trust that there’s a reason for all of this because I really love the series and author but it doesn’t make me any happier in the meantime.

I’ve been trying to mash together my grades for this one for a while but I just can’t come up with anything in the middle – so it gets two.

My Rating for the Storyline: A-
My Rating for the Relationship Advancement: B-

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

