The Night Is Mine

The Night is MineBy M.L. Buchman

Publisher: Sourcebooks Inc.
Publication Date: February 1, 2012
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: Netgalley

First in a thrilling military romantic suspense series based on the real-life elite helicopter pilots who transport Navy SEALs and Delta Force teams in and out of combat and covert missions. (SOAR are the heroes of Black Hawk Down.)

Buchman’s heroine flys the most dangerous military ops and tries to find the one man who can be a hero in her own life. Ace-pilot Captain Emily Beale goes undercover as bodyguard to the First Lady, with her rugged commander, Major Mark Henderson, who is determined to cover her back. Can she learn to keep her desire at bay before her covert mission implodes.

Goodreads Summary

I picked this up originally based on a review by Smexy Books. Then I saw the cover, and knew I had to read it. Those naked male torsos on book covers get me every. single. time.

Captain Emily Beale is the first female pilot to ever make it into the prestigious SOAR ranks, and has had to fight tooth and nail to get her fellow soldiers to think of her as just one of the guys. All of her hard work goes down the drain after a news report that she thought was going to be about her accomplishments turns into a story about the hottest chef in the sky. Not only does she catch major flack from the guys, it catches the eye of the First Lady and Emily is recruited to be her personal chef and bodyguard. Emily is reluctant to leave her team and everything she’s worked for, and she starts to refuse the assignment when her commander hands her a letter personally written by the President. She can’t resist the request of a personal favor from the President, and her childhood best friend, and in a record amount of time she is plucked out of the desert in some unknown country, and flown immediately stateside to her new assignment.

Emily leaves behind her unit commander, Major Mark Henderson, who is loathe to let her go. He was immediately attracted to her from the first moment he saw her. The ultimate soldier, he’s treated Emily like any other soldier, while secretly fighting his admiration and lust for her. In a moment of weakness, Mark kisses her before she’s about to leave and she is shocked, attracted and has no idea how to respond. So, like any good female fighter, she flips him over her shoulder and races out of the room.

Not all is right at The White House, and Emily finds herself guarding the First Lady against assassination attempts. When Emily is injured protecting the First Lady, Mark calls in all sorts of favors to rush to her bedside to see for himself that she’s okay. Mark stays stateside with Emily, and the pair work together to uncover the person behind the attempts on the First Lady’s life. Can they also strive to resist the insane chemistry that sparks in order to save their careers and keep on flying together?

The Night is Mine was kind of a middle-of-the-road read for me. It was enjoyable, but there were aspects of it that I thought could have been a bit better. I really liked both Mark’s and Emily’s characters. They were bad-arse and cocky, but they were the best of the best so they could get away with it. Sometimes their chemistry was hit or miss for me though. The lust and physical aspects of their relationship were smoking, but it was the every day things that I didn’t really believe. Where a look across the room, or simply sitting next to each other sharing a meal could have held so much impact and emotion, it fell a little flat.

I also thought the way they ended up together stateside was a little too easy. Having been an Army wife myself, I know how difficult it is to get any sort of leave when you’re out in the middle of nowhere. Mark made it seem so easy to just call in favors all over the place and to leave the rest of his team behind while he went and nursed one soldier. Maybe I only saw a small part of the military and I have no idea what the heck I’m talking about, but nothing is ever that easy when it comes to your personal life in the military. It also took awhile for Mark and Emily to even share the same page time. I don’t think they finally got together until around the 50% mark. And when I say get together, I mean “be in the same room for more than five minutes alone” together, not together together.This book definitely focuses more on the build-up than anything else.

The other point that I briefly wanted to mention was that all the praise for Emily got old after awhile. Everyone kept talking about how much of a genius she was and what a natural she was at flying. I didn’t want her to be better than Mark.I know, I know… it’s a weird thought. I think it’s great that she was so good at what she does, but it almost crossed the line of making her too manly. If you know what I mean.

My Summary: I did enjoy the book, and I’d read more books by this author. I really enjoyed Mark and Emily’s characters and the overall story line, and I’m happy that they were able to figure out a way to be together in the end. The book just didn’t have that wow factor that I was really hoping for. I saw glimpses of it, and perhaps in the future the author will deliver a real zinger of a novel that I can only sing praises for. I can’t wait to see if it happens!

My Rating: B+

 

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

