“Waiting On” Wednesday: While He Was Away

Waiting On Wednesday

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

I think I’ve had at least one book from the new adult category before for my WoW pick, but this one came up during a discussion for the challenge that I’m doing and it really interested me. After I grabbed the info for this from Goodreads, I glanced through my wishlist and I have three NA books that all feature couples dealing with being separated by military service. Not a particularly uplifting trend overall, but one that has some dramatic potential, for sure. I really can’t wait for this one, the cover looks so sweet (not my usual billowy dresses, but still love it!).

While He Was AwayWhile He Was Away
By Karen Schreck

Publisher: Sourcebooks Inc.
Publication Date: May 1, 2012
Genre: Contemporary New Adult

“This is just something I have to do, okay?” I hear David say. “The right thing.”

He cradles my face in his hands. He kisses me hard. Then he lets go of me. His eyes dart from me to whatever’s next.

When Penna Weaver’s boyfriend goes off to Iraq, she’s left facing life without him. As summer sets in, Penna tries to distract herself with work and her art, but the not knowing is slowly driving her crazy. Especially when David stops writing. She knows in her heart he will come home— but will he be the same boy she fell in love with?

Goodreads Summary

 

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

