Sins of the Highlander

Originally posted January 15, 2012

Sins of the HighlanderBy Connie Mason

Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication Date: January 1, 2012
Genre: Historical Romance
Source: Netgalley

“Mad Rob” MacLaren thought stealing his enemy’s bride-to-be was the perfect revenge. But he never reckoned that this beautiful, innocent lass would waken the part of him he thought dead and buried with his wife. Against all reason, Rob longs to introduce the luscious Elspeth Stewart to the pleasures of the flesh, to make her his and only his forever.

Even with her gift of the Sight, never had Elspeth Stewart imagined her wedding would be interrupted by a darkhaired stranger charging in on a black stallion, scooping her into his arms, and carrying her off across the wild Scottish highlands. With two clans against them burning for battle, they must find a way to join together–body, breath, and soul. Or both will be made to pay for the Sins of the Highlander.

Goodreads Summary

It’s been awhile since I’ve read a Highlander book. I think the last one was Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning a year ago. I saw Sins of the Highlander on Netgalley, discovered I was in the mood for another one and here we are.

Elspeth is seconds away from marrying a man she’s never met before walking down the aisle in the church. Her father contracted her out, and such is the time, she had no choice but the follow through. Her wedding ceremony is violently interrupted when another man she’s never met rides into the church, snatches her up on the saddle with him and runs off into the woods. Elspeth soon learns that her kidnapper is “Mad Rob” McLaren, and that she’s nothing but a tool to be used for him to enact revenge on her fiance. Rob was married himself not so long ago, when his wife was kidnapped by Elspeth’s intended and taken away to have who knows what done to her. Rob’s wife ultimately killed herself, and Rob has lived with a hole in his heart since.

When planning the kiddnapping, Rob did not intend to find himself attracted to the Elspeth. After two years of not looking at any other woman with desire, why this one right now? Elspeth didn’t want to marry her intended, she felt no desire for him and doesn’t really know what her body is telling her when Rob is near. Elsepth finally gives in and willing follows Rob to his home, and they try to fix the mess Rob has made by kidnapping her so that they can be together.

I picked this up originally because I knew that there would be some initial tension between the couple, and I love me some tension. We all know women fall in love with their kidnappers eventually (well, in books anyway), but she has to pretend to hate him in the beginning. Elspeth only put up a minimal fight, at best. The physical part of their relationship started mere hours after she was kidnapped. I was a bit disappointed that the “dislike” portion didn’t last longer than it did. Admittedly, Rob was pretty sexy for a Highlander so I’m not sure I could have resisted either.

As is the case in most romance novels for me, I liked the hero better than the heroine. Elspeth was a bit too dramatic, a bit too naive and a just a little bit too self -sacrificing. I’m all for making grand gestures for the one you love, but can’t you just tell him what you’re doing instead of sneaking off into the night and probably making things worse? It’s all about communication, peeps. I have five years of marriage under my belt, so I know what I’m talking about here (ha! yeah right). Rob was the nicely chiseled, all-swaggering hero I wanted in a Highlander romance. After getting to know him through the book, I wanted him to come snatch me up and whisk me away somewhere. Maybe I’ll have to read that part to the hubs or something. I’ve never seen the hubs ride a horse, so it might turn out comical instead of romantic. 😉

My Summary: Sins of the Highlander was a fun read, one that I would call a good middle-road novel. I laughed at and enjoyed some parts, and cringed at others. Overall, I’d read another book by Connie Mason and would recommend this for when you find yourself with some free time in between books, or are in a Highlander romance sort of mood.

My Rating: B

 

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

