On a Dark Wing Blog Tour: Review and Giveaway

We’re happy to be part of the blog tour for Jordan Dane’s upcoming release, On a Dark Wing.  Throughout the end of December and into the beginning of January, participating blogs will feature reviews, excerpts, character interviews, dream casts and author interviews.
There will be prizes given during the tour (check out mine below my review) and one big huge Grand Prize from Jordan – a Kindle Fire!
You can enter to win the Grand Prize by clicking on either the tour banner above or you can click here to go to the form.  Contest rules are posted on the Rafflecopter form.  Winners will be announced in a live chat with Jordan hosted by YA Bound on January 5th, 2012 at 7:00 p.m. EDT (don’t worry, you’ll be emailed too if you miss it).
Don’t forget to keep scrolling after my review to check out my giveaway!

On a Dark WingOn a Dark Wing
By Jordan Dane

Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: January 1, 2012
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal
Jordan Dane’s Website
Source: NetGalley

The choices I had made led to the moment when fate took over. I would learn a lesson I wasn’t prepared for. And Death would be my willing teacher.

Five years ago, Abbey Chandler cheated Death. She survived a horrific car accident, but her “lucky” break came at the expense of her mother’s life and changed everything. After she crossed paths with Death—by taking the hand of an ethereal boy made of clouds and sky—she would never be normal again.

Now she’s the target of Death’s ravens and an innocent boy’s life is on the line. When Nate Holden—Abbey’s secret crush—starts to climb Alaska’s Denali, the Angel of Death stalks him because of her.

And Abbey finds out the hard way that Death never forgets.

Goodreads Summary

*****

Abbey’s mother died in a car accident five years ago and she’s been blaming herself every day since then. Her relationship with her dad is strained at best, she’s living in Loserville at school and she’s developed a fixation on Nate, an unattainable boy. The one totally normal relationship she has is with her best friend Tanner, a cute guy in a wheelchair.

Nate is planning a dangerous trip up Denali right as the anniversary of Abbey’s mother approaches and she and her father head to their cabin in Healy. With death and guilt on her mind, the single crow that seems to have been watching over her lately turns into a flock – and Abbey finds out that Death has been watching her, learning what she likes and wants to have life, even at the expense of someone else’s.

In a way, there are three separate stories running here, all very different, and I like the way Dane writes all of them for the most part. Back at home, Tanner is dealing with some bullying targeted at him and Abbey as well as keeping track of Nate and Denali because of his own interest in climbing. On Denali, there’s the story of Nate, his friend Josh and then their families when the climb goes wrong. Then in Healy, there’s Abbey, her father and Death. The story is told various alternating perspectives, Abbey’s first person POV, Nate and Tanner’s third. I was going to say I really liked Nate’s but then again, I really liked Tanner’s too. The sections with Nate on Denali were very powerful and if there had been a better way to weave him into the book, I’d have liked to see more of his character. I liked his family, especially his little sister.

Tanner was also a special character, one that I was glad to see more of as the story gained momentum near the end. He was sweet and funny and it was interesting the way his being in a wheelchair was worked into the story without it ever really being an issue. I can’t say that I always “got” Abbey but I think so much of what she did was driven by her grief and self-directed anger, maybe I wasn’t supposed to always figure her out. She did some unhealthy things which I would think is normal for someone who blames themselves for something monumental but she did a number of things when Death showed his face that I can’t imagine a fifteen-year old doing.

I’ve always liked the concept of Death itself as an entity (Jackie Morse Kessler does a great job of this in her Riders of the Apocalypse series), so I was intrigued by Dane’s take on it. I definitely like her idea – that Death can remember a soul that it didn’t get to take and has the ability to stalk it and try to experience things through it. There were some questions I wanted answered – why hadn’t Death done this before? Why only Abbey, surely there had been others? How could Death be ageless but now know certain things?  When Death expressed almost child-like emotions, I think I understood it the most.

My Summary: On a Dark Wing is a nicely told story about love, loss, guilt, obsession, forgiveness and friendship. I liked the majority of the story’s puzzle pieces, although they didn’t necessarily always fit well together for me, mostly because I just didn’t always understand Abbey. Dane is a talented author who writes with beautiful imagery and she made the story worth reading.

My Rating: B-

The awesome people at Harlequin Teen have donated ten signed copies of On a Dark Wing to be given away during the tour and you can win one of them right here (US only).  Abbey’s even going to sneak a “special surprise” into the package (don’t ask me, she’s apparently sworn everyone to secrecy).  Just fill in the super-simple Rafflecopter form, don’t forget to check out other stops on the tour for more chances to win copies of On a Dark Wing, and make sure you enter to win the Kindle Fire Jordan’s giving away!

The Giveaway has ended – thanks to everyone who entered!

Comments

  1. That cover is gorgeous!I'm Christina Kit. on GFC (there was no space in the rafflecopter to put it)Christina Kit. in the rafflecopter form too.

  2. Thank you so much, Christina! I added space on the form and filled your info in. I had a brain hiccup when I was doing the form. 🙂

  3. Wonderful review. Jordan Dane's writing is beautiful, I completely agree. Thank you for joining the tour!

  4. Great review. I too love Jordan's writing.

  5. Thanks for your insights into my book, Barbara. Nice review. And I really appreciate you being a tour stop. Best wishes to everyone entering for a book & the grand prize Kindle Fire. Happy holidays!Jordan Dane

  6. Thanks for the chance to win!! Love that cover!!

  7. I've heard some mixed reviews, so I'm anxious to read it and see for myself. Thank you for the giveaway!

  8. I've had this one on my wishlist for since I first saw the cover and read the blurb. Thanks for the giveaway!alterlisa AT yahoo DOT comhttp://lisaslovesbooksofcourse.blogspot.com/

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

