Guest Post with Author Natalie Damschroder: The Power of the Shower

We’re thrilled to welcome author Natalie Damschroder here today.  She’s the author of an impressive number of novels, novellas and short stories, most recently with Entangled Publishing and Carina Press.  Her latest is the very exciting Under the Moon (Goddesses Rising #1) which was released in ebook in November and print earlier this month.

Natalie took some time to write about the inspirational power that can be found in the shower.

I have a serious love-hate relationship with my shower. I hate how much time it takes out of my way-too-busy schedule. Of course, once I’m in it, I hate to get out, especially at this time of year (winter in Pennsylvania, since this is an international readership). And then there’s the drying and the dressing and the wet hair that needs a blowdrier or it just hangs there, looking like one of those horror movie hairdos. You know the kind, hanging stringy over the face?

Anyway, despite my resentment for the time-wasting, I have to admit, the shower is a fantastic creative tool. It doesn’t just cleanse the body, it cleanses the mind. I can’t tell you how many plot problems have been solved in my shower, or new ideas spawned. It doesn’t always have to pertain to writing, either! I’ve made decisions, and achieved clarity about an issue I or we as a family were grappling with. My long-term to-do lists irons itself out. I do financial planning. I remember someone’s birthday or big event I have to contact them about.

Of course, there’s a major problem with all this brain-clearing. Yeah, exactly. How do you capture it, especially when something hits you at the beginning of the shower? You obviously can’t take a laptop, Alphasmart Neo, or pad of paper into the spray with you. Bath crayons aren’t exactly practical, either. You’d have to shut off the shower before you write all over the walls, and then what? It’s double the work to rewrite it all.

My husband has become accustomed to these situations. “Ah,” he says sagely when he sees me dashing into the kitchen to grab my Neo from its case. “Inspiration has struck.” If I’m lucky, I have time before work, or it’s my day off, and I can hammer out the opening scene of the next book, or a good (okay, halfway decent…or maybe passable) blog post. The biggest mistake is always assuming that my clarity or inspiration is so strong, I can’t possibly forget it. I turn 41 next week. There’s no such thing as “strong” when it comes to memory anymore.

So how about you? Does the shower have any kind of mind-clearing power for you? I’m equally eager to hear how many of you are just like me, or think I’m totally insane. 🙂

Thank you so much, Barbara and Cait, for hosting me today! I love your blog and will lurk here frequently! 🙂

~Natalie

Thank you, Natalie!  It was a pleasure having you stop by – and um..most of my best thinking is in the shower.  Or maybe when I’m sleeping.  🙂

Natalie Damschroder
Natalie J. Damschroder became a writer the hard way—by avoiding it. Though she wrote her first book at age six (My Very Own Reading Book) and received accolades for her academic writing (Ruth Davies Award for Excellence in Writing for a paper on deforestation her senior year in college), she hated doing it. Colonial food and the habits of the European Starling just weren’t her thing.

Shortly after graduating from college, however, she found her niche—romantic fiction. After an internship with the National Geographic Society, customer service for a phone company just wasn’t that exciting. So she began learning how to write the books she’d loved to read all her life. Four books and six years later, she finally sold. Now she struggles to balance her frenetic writing life (how else can she get all the stories in her head on paper?) with her family, the most supportive husband in the world and two beautiful, intelligent, stubborn, independent daughters (the oldest of whom has become a writer). She somehow also fits in a day job and various volunteer positions in and out of the writing industry.

You can find Natalie at her website, follow her on Twitter or friend her on Facebook.

Under the MoonUnder the Moon (Goddesses Rising #1)

By Natalie Damschroder
Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC
Publication Date: December 6, 2011
Genre: Urban Fantasy

Their power gives them strength…and makes them targets.

Quinn Caldwell is the epitome of a modern goddess. Her power source is the moon, her abilities restricted only by physical resources and lunar phase. She runs a consulting business and her father’s bar, serves on the board of the ancient Society for Goddess Education and Defense, and yearns for Nick Jarrett, professional goddess protector and the soul mate she can never have.

But someone has developed the rare and difficult ability to drain a goddess of her powers, and Quinn is a target. With the world thinking Nick has gone rogue (whatever that means) and that Quinn is influenced by “family ties” she didn’t know she had, keeping themselves safe while working to find the enemy proves harder each day.

But not as hard as denying their hearts…

Goodreads Summary

Comments

  1. I WISH I had enough time in the shower to contemplate all of life's problems. A 15mo busy body running around means only a few minutes in the steam for me. Sigh. Oh, the good ol' days! 😉

  2. I remember those days, Caitlin! You're too tense rushing before they wake up or start crying, or you have one eye/ear outside the shower, etc. Great news—when they get older, and you can luxuriate in a 10-minute shower, the brain thing comes back. 🙂

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

