Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River #16)

Bring Me HomeBy Robyn Carr

Publisher: Mira
Publication Date: October 25, 2011
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Holiday
Source: Publisher

This year, Becca Timm knows the number one item on her Christmas wish list—getting over Denny Cutler. Three years ago, Denny broke her heart before heading off to war. It’s time she got over her silly high-school relationship and moved on.

Holiday Reading Challenge

So she takes matters into her own hands and heads up to Virgin River, the rugged little mountain town that Denny calls home, as an uninvited guest on her brother’s men-only hunting weekend. But when an accident turns her impromptu visit into an extended stay, Becca finds herself stranded in Virgin River. With Denny. In very close quarters.

As the power of Christmas envelops the little town, Becca discovers that the boy she once loved has become a strong and confident man. And the most delicious Christmas present she can imagine.

Goodreads Summary

Becca is at a crossroads in her life – she’s just lost her job as a second-grade teacher at a private school and her boyfriend of a year seems ready to propose. Her thoughts are filled with the guy who broke her heart years ago and in a crazy plan to make sure she’s over him for good, she convinces her brother Rich to let her tag along on a hunting trip with his buddies, including Denny her former boyfriend. Instead of the closure Becca wants, what she gets are the same fireworks the two of them have always had. An argument leads to an accident and just like that, Becca is stuck in Virgin Creek for weeks with Denny demanding she let him take care of her. And just like that, the two of them are forced to confront what drove them apart, whether they still love each other and whether they can make their lives work together.

This is my first Virgin River novel and I have to admit, just looking at the number of the book in the series was a little daunting. I was afraid that this would be full of people I didn’t know who would have stories that would be integral to this story and I’d be lost. I found that this ended up being just the right blend of a standalone and series book for me. I loved this but also knew that there were stories of other couples in it that I could find in other books in the series – when I finished, I bought Jack and Mel’s book, Virgin River, Preacher and Paige’s book, Shelter Mountain and Luke and Shelby’s book, Temptation Ridge.

I completely love stories about couples who are drawn back together. In Becca and Denny’s case, it was mostly that they were too young and didn’t know how to communicate that separated them in the first place – already enlisted in the Marines with Becca’s brother, he made a choice while grief-stricken that neither he nor Becca were really old enough to deal with. Later, he just didn’t understand what she needed and things ended badly for both of them. When Becca and Denny confessed how each of them misunderstood the other, it felt cleansing and like a huge turning point in the story.

Initially, Becca was a little bit of a brat – she was funny and headstrong but yeah, a little bratty. I felt sorry for her poor brother because it sounded like Rich was going to get his butt kicked by his mother for bringing Becca along on this trip. The longer she stayed in Virgin River though, the more she grew on me – she started to love the town and the people and soften. I especially loved how fiercely protective she was with the children.

Denny, I loved from the beginning. Becca befuddled him, infuriated him, aroused him and made him ready to give up anything and everything. He fit into Virgin River so perfectly, I knew had a back-story somewhere in another book. I wish more of the story had been told from his POV – he was so interesting to me, I wanted him to show me Becca and Virgin River too.

The romance between Denny and Becca was slow to develop – they had their issues to work through, forgiveness had to be granted – but when they did, it was sweet and passionate together.

Before the book can end, there’s still a conflict to be resolved between Denny and Becca before they can have a happily ever after and it’s pretty obviously broadcast from the beginning of their resumed relationship – do they stay in Virgin River or not? I’m an admitted mush when it comes to love stories and I went through a handful of tissues as the town comes together for each other and the holiday.

My Summary: This was my first year that I really made an effort to read holiday books and so far I’ve had a wonderful run. Bring Me Home for Christmas is a sweet and heartwarming story about getting another chance with the love of your life, finding home in an unexpected place and the power of a tight-knit community. As the town prepared for Christmas, Carr might have been unabashedly pulling on a handful of heartstrings, but I didn’t care – I loved this and am looking forward to many more trips to Virgin River.

My Rating: A-

Barbara

Comments

  1. I've only read the first two, but they were wonderful and I LOVED the small town aspect. I meant to continue on, but got busy reading other things I guess. Now I definitely will pick them up again!

  2. Only 14 more to go! Get moving. 🙂 Two of those I listed (duh) were the first two. I really, really wanted to read about Jack and Preacher.I loved the small town part of this too, so much. Probably because..well you know. lol I can't walk down the street without half the people knowing who I am, who my parents are and my shoe size. The other half are strangers who moved here in the last ten years.

  3. I gotta be honest. I try and I try but just can't get into this series. Sigh…

  4. Hi Julia!! Well, at least you've tried. 🙂 Of course now I can't think of them off of the top of my head but there are more than one series' that everyone loves that I make the sign of the cross at when they come within 10 feet of me. lol

  5. Julia – I'm that way with the BDB series (gasp! horror!). I've read about three of the books, and I just can't stomach the rest. I keep trying with every new book that comes out, but they just aren't working for me. But shh.. don't tell anyone. 😉

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

