Our Comfort Reads: Natural Born Charmer

Our Comfort ReadsOur Comfort Reads is our own blog feature that Barbara and I use to highlight and recommend books that we read when we need a little pick-me-up. Whether we’re overwhelmed with our TBR pile, need a break from a bad run of books or just want something familiar to read that we know will deliver a good story and a happy ending, these are the books we turn to and we hope that you’ll enjoy them too.This was the first book I ever read by SEP. I was just getting into Goodreads and the book blogging world, and this book was mentioned over and over again so I thought I’d give it a shot. I completely fell in love! This book opened up a whole new world of contemporary romance for me, and I soon devoured every book SEP had ever written. Some were better than others, but this book will always be my favorite.

Natural Born CharmerBy Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: Feb 1, 2007
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Chicago Stars quarterback Dean Robillard is the luckiest man in the world. But life in the glory lane has started to pale, and Dean has set off on a trip to figure out what’s gone wrong. When he hits a lonely stretch of Colorado highway, he spies something that will shake up his gilded life in ways he can’t imagine. A young woman . . . dressed in a beaver suit.

Blue Bailey is on a mission. As for the beaver suit she’s wearing . . . Is it her fault that life keeps throwing her curve balls? Witness the expensive black sports car pulling up next to her on the highway and the Greek god stepping out of it.

They’re soon heading for his summer home, where their already complicated lives and inconvenient attraction to each other will become entangled with a charismatic but aging rock star; a beautiful, fifty-two-year-old woman trying to make peace with her rock and roll past; an eleven-year-old who desperately needs a family; and a bitter old woman who hates them all.

Natural Born Charmer . . . for anyone who’s ever thought about leaving their old life in the dust.

Goodreads Summary

The first few pages had me openly laughing out loud when Dean and Blue first meet. Blue Bailey is a down on her luck artist, and has had to resort to standing around in a beaver suit to earn back the money her ex-boyfriend stole from her. She is angrily striding down the road with her beaver head in one arm and her tail flapping behind her in the breeze when Dean pulls up along beside her offering her a ride. Not one to pass up a good opportunity, Dean can’t help but stop and satisfy his curiousity about the woman. He offers her a ride, thinking it would just be a simple lift into town. Blue somehow manages to convince him to take her cross country with him, where he was headed to spend a few weeks of R&R before the football season starts up again.

Blue and Dean don’t immediately fall into bed together, and in fact they find each other quite annoying. Their verbal sparring is one of the best aspects about this book. Once they reach Dean’s home, there’s a surprise visitor waiting for them and Dean finds himself clinging to Blue and ends up announcing their fake engagement. What was supposed to be a few weeks of alone time for Dean has turned into a house full of unwanted guests and an undeniable attraction for Blue that Dean can’t seem to shake.

SEP generally follows the same formula for every novel she writes. They all tend to run together after awhile, but there’s just something about them that make me happy. Maybe it’s the bickering and the will-they/won’t-they tension, or maybe it’s the hoops that SEP makes her characters go through to achieve personal growth. Dean and Blue are two of my very most favorite characters. They’re flawed, they make mistakes but they have a unique way of looking at the world and once they do decide they want to live happily ever after together, it’s a beautiful thing. Equally as great in this book are all of the side characters. The two find themselves thrown into a family neither of them knew they wanted, including a long lost father and a bitter old woman that rules the town.

Natural Born Charmer will have you laughing to yourself one moment and holding back tears the next. It’s just that good.

Cait

Comments

  1. OMG!!! I LOOOVE this one!!! YAY! I'm going to have to pull it off the shelf and give it a re-read!!

  2. I sort of forgot that I'd ever read SEP until I saw this and went looking to see if I'd ever read her before. And I realized I'd read Dream a Little Dream and have Glitter Baby somewhere on my Kindle. Beaver suit, huh? I guess it's a good thing my mom and dad know me well enough to toss me an Ammy GC for Christmas, eh? 🙂

  3. Eep, my profile picture is scarin' me! Where'd I go?

  4. BB – I thought the same thing to myself while I was typing this post up. This meme is killin' my reading schedule! Barbara – I didn't know that you'd ever read SEP. Last I checked you hadn't read her at all. Sneaky, sneaky.. I have no idea where you went. Maybe Blogger just couldn't handle your beauty…. 😉

  5. I kept getting Gage mixed up with Gabe from Kleypas' Sugar Daddy. I never rate everything on GR so I can't keep track of anything.I know someone who's gettin' coal in her stocking for being lippy…. 😉

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

