Interview with Author E. Van Lowe

E.Van LoweEarth Angel, author E. Van Lowe’s second book in his Falling Angels series, was released this week (and Boyfriend From Hell got a spiffy new cover to match it!) and he was kind enough to sit down and let me torture him with a bunch of questions.  He’s got a seriously impressive resume that includes working on The Cosby Show, Even Stevens, the Academy Award nominated short film Cadillac Dreams and Never Slow Dance With a Zombie so dealing with me was a snap, right?B: Tell us a little bit about Earth Angel and what sort of trouble Megan is dealing with this time.

E. Van Lowe: At the end of Boyfriend From Hell Megan defeats Satan and acquires a smokin’ hot angel as her new boyfriend. In Earth Angel, Megan is confronted with relationship problems, along with her mother not liking the boy/angel she’s in a relationship with. Add to this, the weapon she acquired to defeat Satan is now sought after by Heaven, Hell and and Satanists walking the earth—oh yeah, and she gets kicked out of school. Life ain’t easy when your BF is an Earth Angel.

B: Did you have any special inspiration for the Falling Angels series?

Earth AngelE. Van Lowe: Boyfriend From Hell started out as a one-off, but as I learned more about the fans of the genre, I realized I needed to write a series. As you all probably know, fans love series. Just like in TV series where we enjoyed coming back to Lost each week to see what happened next, fans of book series like forming an ongoing relationship with the author’s characters.
I wasn’t contemplating a series when I began doing my research on angels for Boyfriend From Hell. Yet before long I had all these characters in my head, and all these different storylines. Without realizing it, I had created a series.

B: One of the things I really loved about both Boyfriend From Hell and Earth Angel was the rapid-pacing of the dialogue, not to mention the great ear you have for keeping it appropriate for the characters. 

Can I attribute it to the time you spent working in television or do you keep a house full of teens on hand that you’re forced to listen to?

E. Van Lowe: LOL. No house full of teens here. I live near two schools. When I walk the streets I listen to how young people, teachers, everyone speaks, and try to incorporate natural speech into my dialogue. You’re right about working in TV. The desire to incorporate speech patterns developed when I was learning to write for television. TV is driven by dialogue. For twenty years that’s pretty much all I wrote. If you do anything long enough you get good at it. As for the rapid pace, I’m a New Yorker. Is there any other way to speak? LOL

B: If you had to list them in order of how frightening they are, where would you put Satan, Demons, Online Dating and High School Lunch Rooms?
Boyfriend from Hell
E.Van Lowe: Fun question. I would have to say High School Lunch Rooms tops the list. Have you seen what they try to pass off as food in cafeterias? God bless the tater tot. Second would be online dating. Several years ago I tried filling out an online dating form. After half an hour I gave up. The questionnaire was asking me more things about myself than I actually knew. If you can get through one of those forms, you can handle Satan and demons with ease.

B: There’s one book left in the Fallen Angels series. When that’s done, what do you have planned?


E. Van Lowe: I thought there was one book left in the series, but when I outlined Heaven Sent I realized there were two. I have another series I’ve sold called Hollyweird. For some reason the deal for that has been moving slowly. I hope to start edits on the first book in that series early next year. Those three books should keep me busy for some time

If you enjoyed this interview you can check out both Boyfriend From Hell and Earth Angel on my website. There’s even a free sample of Boyfriend From Hell on the home page so you can try it before you but it. While you’re there please click on the buttons to follow me on Twitter and like my Facebook Fan Page.

There’s a giveaway running at Goodreads to win a copy of Earth Angel that ends December 12th!

Many thanks to E. for being a terrific sport and taking time to answer my questions!

E Van Lowe was born in the Bronx a long time ago, back in the days when children were supposed to be seen and not heard. Fortunately for E, his parents allowed him to speak freely. Unfortunately for his parents and older brother, E had a lot to say. He was speaking quite freely until one day, while his mother was trying to watch her “stories” (which is code for soap operas), she suggested that instead of speaking freely, he write all his important thoughts down. E wrote down many important thoughts, such as: crayons melt when you leave them on the radiator, or toy soldiers melt when you drop them in the muffin batter before mom puts it in the oven. His brother thought he was weird, but E was only ten years old at the time. What did he expect, Shakespeare? E liked writing things down so much, he decided that when he grew up, he was going to become a professional writer.

As a teenager, E tried very hard to be popular. One of the things he tried was hanging out with the “bad” kids. He encouraged them to write their thoughts down, as well. They explained that if they wrote down their thoughts it could be used as evidence in a court of law, and encouraged E to move on. But E kept writing down his important thoughts.
E wrote many short stories and poems all through high school and college. He entered them in writing contests, but the contest people didn’t think they were important enough. E was not discouraged. He kept writing.

When E graduated from Lehman College in the Bronx, he moved to Los Angeles. There he enrolled in the Masters In Professional Writing Program at the University of Southern California. It worked! While a student at USC, E sold his first short story to a romance magazine. His brother thought that was the weirdest thing ever. E didn’t care. He had become a professional writer. E told his brother quite eloquently, “nah, nah, nah!” and continued writing.

E has gone on to write for many award winning TV shows including: The Cosby Show, and Even Stevens. He also co-wrote the Academy Award nominated short film, Cadillac Dreams. Never Slow Dance With A Zombie was his first teen novel. Boyfriend From Hell is the first in the Falling Angels Saga. The second novel in the saga, Earth Angel, will be coming out soon. It seems E still has lots of important, and weird, thoughts to share with readers.

Bio courtesy of E. Van Lowe’s Website

Comments

  1. Great interview! Fascinating resume and imagination! Thanks!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

