"Waiting On" Wednesday: Article 5

Waiting on Wednesday

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

I found myself with some free time one night and so I spent an hour or so perusing Goodreads looking for some new things to read. It’s not as if I don’t already have a huge stack of books waiting for my attention. I always have to add more, ya’ know? I found this on one of the many lists featuring upcoming books in 2012. I was intrigued by the cover and title first, and then I read the synopsis and mentally yelled “SOLD!” I love these apocolyptic type novels, where the characters have to fight for their survival. It makes the story so much more interesting, no?

Article 5By Kristen Simmons

Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: Feb 14, 2012
Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.

The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.

There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don’t come back.

Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It’s hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.

Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved.

Goodreads Summary

Barbara

Comments

  1. The cover sounds interesting! I've seen this book quite a few times. I like the sound of it. Great choice! Thank you for sharing!SamBooks For All Seasons

  2. That sounds interesting. Great pick :)Here are my WOW picks.KatWit and Sin

  3. I've just begun to love dystopian and apocalyptic books so I'm really looking forward to this one as well! Thanks for sharing :)Kim @ The Paper Planes

  4. Great pick! I'm starting to see this one pop up everywhere. Thanks for sharing!Here's mine: http://thebookishbabes.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday.html

  5. Oh, it's on my wishlist too! 🙂 Can't wait to read this one, great pick! Also, new follower.My pick for this weekVickyBooks, Biscuits & Tea xxx

  6. This sounds like a really good book. I love dystopian novels. I can see next year is going to be even more expensive, book buying wise.Excellent PickHere's my WoW

  7. I've started seeing this onf a lot. Looks great. Thanks for sharing!Here's mine: http://thebookishbabes.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday.html

  8. Ooh I can't wait to read this one I love dystopians and this one sounds freaking awesome!! :DGiselleXpresso Reads

  9. I've seen this one around, and I'm intrigued. As a fan of dystopian, I'm also eagerly waiting for this one.Here's MY WOW POST andMY WEBSITE

  10. PERFECT choice!!! I cannot WAIT for this one!!

  11. I'm so glad that everyone is excited to read it! Looks like I need to do some serious digging to find a book that isn't very common. Is that even possible? lol 😉

  12. Article 5 sounds amazing! Can't wait to read it. Great pick!EmMy WOWA Beautiful Madness

  13. *lol* Why does that sound A LOT like me? I'm request too much than I can handle. They should really come up with an expression for that. Still, I'd have to add Article 5 immediately if I hadn't already. I like dystopian worlds, so this should make me very happy come 2012!Have a happy reading week!- Asher (from Paranormal Indulgence)

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

