"Waiting on" Wednesday: A Witch in Winter

Waiting on Wednesday

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Ages ago I did some coursework that had me buying a lot of non-fiction books about witches and witchcraft.  The historical study of it ended up being really interesting to me, but I also really love it when I can find a good light novel treatment with a little romance in it.  This year there haven’t really been many longer-form books in the genre that stood out (some novellas here and there were good though).  A Discovery of Witches was so long, I was afraid I’d have grandchildren and they’d be grown by the time I was done and everything else has generally been adult and not YA, which I’ve been more interested in.

I don’t know if it’s going to be a trend, but I have several on my wishlist for 2012 and I just added this one, which has a bonus since it meets my side-eye requirement of having a knock-out cover.  Don’t you just love those colors?

A Witch in WinterBy Ruth Warburton

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books
Publication Date: March 2012 (first published January 5, 2012)
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Anna Winterson doesn’t know she’s a witch and would probably mock you for believing in magic, but after moving to the small town of Winter with her father, she learns more than she ever wanted to about power. When Anna meets Seth, she is smitten, but when she enchants him to love her, she unwittingly amplifies a deadly conflict between two witch clans and splits her own heart in two. She wants to love Seth, to let him love her – but if it is her magic that’s controlling his passion, then she is as monstrous as the witch clan who are trying to use her amazing powers for their own gain.

Although a perfect fit for the paranormal romance genre, A WITCH IN WINTER avoids fangs, excessive body hair and submissive female leads, and tells the heart-wrenching story of a couple meant to be together, but being forced apart. Seth is utterly irresistible and Anna is an empowered, proactive young woman with unimaginable magic inside her. This is fast-paced, sensuous writing with believable incantations inspired by Warburton’s research into witchcraft legend and old English.

Goodreads Summary

Barbara

Comments

  1. Oh! Wonderful choice! I've got this up for review soon!My WOW:http://mochalattereads.blogspot.com/2011/11/waiting-on-wednesday34.html-★Wendy★A Cupcake and a Latte: Young Adult Reviews!

  2. This cover is great! It sounds good too:)

  3. I LOVEEEEEEEE This cover! It's beautiful!!! I like the story a lot!! Awesome choice! Thank you so much for sharing!! Really!! SamBooks For All Seasons

  4. Kinda of has a "Secret Circle" feel to it. Sounds great!My WOW

  5. This part totally had me: "A WITCH IN WINTER avoids fangs, excessive body hair and submissive female leads…." <—sounds perfect! Great pick. 🙂

  6. The title and the synopsis sounds really gooood! definitely waiting for this one!Here's my WoW pickJay @ We Fancy Books

  7. Oooh. Great pick! And the cover's just to die for.My WoW: http://theawesomemagicattic.blogspot.com/2011/11/waiting-on-wednesday-sweet-evil.html

  8. Great pick! I am hoping I will get an ARC of this one. If I don't, I will definitely be pre-ordering!

  9. This one looks so good. It will not be long before it releases. It has a pretty good cover.GraceLivre De Amour-Books of Love

  10. Sounds great. I hadn't really heard of that book before, but I'll have to check it out. Great Pick!EmMy WOWA Beautiful Madness

  11. Great pick! I actually hadn't heard of this one–may have to check it out! :)Happy Wednesday!Jessi @ Reading in the Corner

  12. Sounds good! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Divergent is one of those books you shouldn't wait to read. I was REALLY mad at myself that I waited and I only waited a month after getting it.♥bookluvrmindyMagical Urban Fantasy Reads

  13. Ooo…this sounds really interesting! I think I shall have to add it to my TBR 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting my WoW! 🙂

  14. Hi thanks for visiting my blog and for following 🙂 And as for the book you could not find a blurb for. I have dobe a review on our blog on it and I have a blurb on it http://ratherbarefoot.blogspot.com/2011/11/book-review-beg-for-mercy-by-shannon.html

  15. Nice! The cover is lovely too!Thanks for stopping by:)jenn | my WoW

  16. Great pick, this sounds really good. I am definitely adding it to my list. Thanks for stopping by.

  17. Nice pick! I haven't heard of A Witch in Winter but it looks amazing. I just can't resist adding it to my list.

  18. A Witch in Winter is supposed to be Blow Your Mind amazing. A blogging pal of mine, Brodie, wrote a fabulous review for this book that will make you antsy and anxious to read this book!- Asher (from Paranormal Indulgence)

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

