Our Comfort Reads: Beautiful Disaster

Our Comfort ReadsOur Comfort Reads is our own blog feature that Barbara and I use to highlight and recommend books that we read when we need a little pick-me-up. Whether we’re overwhelmed with our TBR pile, need a break from a bad run of books or just want something familiar to read that we know will deliver a good story and a happy ending, these are the books we turn to and we hope that you’ll enjoy them too.

My pick this week is a book that I read a few months ago for the first time, and now I can’t seem to forget the characters or the story. It used to have a different cover that was kind of weird and bizarre, and it was a self- pub book and I really had no idea what I was getting myself into. My family had a rough week and when I needed to escape for a bit, this was the first book I turned to. Beautiful Disaster has quickly become one of my favorite books.

Beautiful DisasterBeautiful Disaster

By Jamie McGuire
Publisher: Jamie McGuire, LLC
Publication Date: May 26, 2011
Genre: Young Adult

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

Goodreads Summary

This book has a TON of angst. Most young adult novels do, but the angst level in this book blows every other book out of the water. The sole focus of the book is on Abby and Travis and how messed up they are. The title is really appropriate in this case, since the two really are a disaster. They’re a disaster individually, and when they’re together they create disaster’s around every one else. Ever know a couple that had the hardest time getting their crap together? They were on again, off again, fighting all the time, dragging everyone else into their drama.. that’s exactly what Travis and Abby are like. Surprisingly, I wasn’t bothered a bit by the angst and drama in the book. I have a tendency to roll my eyes when the shenanigans are over the top, but that’s what this book is all about. The chemistry between Abby and Travis jumps off the page, and I was pulled in from their very first meeting. Forget sleeping. Forget eating. Forget pretty much the whole world around you as you are drawn in to the whirlwind that is Abby and Travis.

It’s the perfect book for when you need an escape from real life. The ending is sweet and happy, and my only complaint is that the book had to end!

Cait

Comments

  1. Sounds angsty :PGreat review! And if I'm ever looking to read a book with lots of drama, I'll know where to turn.Nerd Girls at Books to the Sky

  2. New follower here :0)I read the book a couple of weeks ago and I absolutely agree with your review. I was pulled into the story from the beginning. It's one of those stories that has a HEA, but doesn't necessarily mean boy and girl end up together. So I was desperately hoping they'd work it out somehow. He's one of those complicated guys that you can't help but love through all their faults :0)

  3. I read "Beautiful Disaster" today and wow. Even though there were some things going on that were so messed up and over the top, I still enjoyed the book a lot.

  4. Nerd Girls – This does have lots of drama, I will admit. But good drama, and a good read!Alisa – I felt the same way! I was practically biting my nails from when they got back from Vegas until they went again the second time. I'm so glad it ended well!Sabrina – It really is kind of over the top and messed up. lol But I'm with you, I still really ejoyed it despite all that!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

