Snowed In

Snowed InBy Rachel Hawthorne

Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: December 1, 2007
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Purchased

Well, apparently I live here now—my mom just bought the place. And named it after me, Ashleigh, which was nice. But did she know how cold it is here??

Um, it’s a tiny island with not much to do, unless you really like sleigh rides. But I gotta say there are quite a few hot guys on this cold island . . .

Goodreads Summary

BLI Holiday Challenge
Ashleigh Sneaux (get it?) and her mom are the new owners of a B&B located in the frozen tundra of an island in the Great Lakes, or at least that’s what it feels like to the former resident of toasty-warm Texas.  It’s like another world – no cars allowed, just sleighs, sleds, skis and good old foot power, fudge shops as far as the eye can see and instead of the class of a thousand she’s just come from, her new school class is expected to be around five or six which will significantly narrow her dating pool.  This could pose a problem for serial dater Ashleigh.

What luck it is then that her first day on the island her new BFF (self-appointed) Nathalie (Nath-alie, since her parents combined Nathan and Natalie) introduces her to the guy who works at her family’s fudge shop, her arch-enemy and all-around hot guy Chase who asks her out.  Is it luck though that on day two she runs into a sexy young lumberjack in her hallway named Josh that makes her wish she’d never met Chase?  It really makes an already small, cold island smaller and colder when Josh turns out to be that boyfriend Nathalie’s always going on and on about, just as Ashleigh was thinking she might have found someone she could date more than twice.

It’s true that if I hadn’t signed up for this Holiday Challenge, I wouldn’t have picked or read this.  I specifically went looking for some contemporary young adult titles in a Goodreads list just for something different and even though this was published in 2007, it looked sort of cute.  “Cute” is a pretty good description of the whole thing, characters and all.

Ashleigh’s take on dating might start with Forrest Gump’s, “life is like a box of chocolates,” line.  She goes one step beyond that and just keeps tossing the chocolates back in the box after she sees what she got.  She witnessed her parents’ marriage break up and has decided all relationships are doomed to fail, so why start one?  I thought generally was she funny and I liked her sarcastic little observations, but her warped views on relationships bothered me sometimes.  She didn’t want to put her own heart out there, but she went a little far for me when she did little things to put down her friend Tara’s relationship.

The hot lumberjack is Josh Wynter (get it?), the son of the handyman doing some work around the Sneaux B&B and his first encounter with Ashleigh is not a nice one – don’t talk to a girl before her coffee is a good rule to follow.  She’d already met Nathalie and listened to her prattle on and on about “my boyfriend,” but Josh seemed awfully flirty for a guy with a girlfriend.  He’s very funny, athletic, nice, shows Ashleigh fun things, he’s hot and lumberjack-ish and makes stuff.  Oh, and he’s Nathalie’s boyfriend, but he said it wasn’t his fault.  Oo-kay.

The story is pretty short so Nathalie isn’t used as much more than a prop and I wasn’t always sure what she was meant to be.  She was nice to Ashleigh in the beginning, acting like some sort of Welcome Wagon on Red Bull, then in the middle when Ashleigh’s friend Tara came to visit there was some weird thing going on with a Victorian Walk and a hat she was trying to make her wear and I don’t know what it meant and at the end she was some medicated Cheerleader Chucky doll. Approach Nathalie with caution, I guess.  Her storyline with Chase was pretty predictable, one I saw coming from the minute he was introduced playing with the fudge at her family’s store in the beginning.

My Summary: There’s really nothing negative I can say about this because it’s just not that kind of book.  It’s meant to be a bit of fantasy, make you laugh a little and stick in your sweet tooth and it did all of that.  It was also short, went quickly and at $5.99 for my Kindle version, vastly overpriced (which has nothing to do with the story, but went a bit towards my enjoyment factor when I hit the end of the book).  Ashleigh was probably the only thing in the book that was close to being realistic, although in my dreams, a street lined with fudge shops exists….

My Rating: B-

Barbara

Comments

  1. I've read this before! It is a little idyllic, huh? It would be nice if such towns existed! I'd live there.

  2. Hot guys, pretty houses, everyone has tea and hot chocolate all the time and fudge shops everywhere..oh yeah, I could do it. 😉 It was very fluffy, a nice change from all the drama and paranormal stuff I usually read. I'm kind of glad I did this holiday challenge, I have another one I just started that's way off the beaten path of what I normally would read too.

  3. Looks good . I'm reading 'The Christmas List' by Richard Paul Evans . In the book , the main character , Kier, who is like 'a scrooge turned good type-a-guy' stays at a Bed and Breakfast that is called 'Snowed Inn' . Just an interesting observation 🙂

  4. Hi Jackie! I love any incarnation of A Christmas Carol. Well except for the one with Susan Lucci. lol I was reading the blurb and a couple of the reviews of this on Goodreads – it sounds like a really sweet holiday read, probably one that would make me reach for my trusty Kleenex box. I have to buy stock in the company, I swear.That's too cute about the "Snowed Inn" connection. 🙂

  5. Yay you are on a roll! Can you feel the holiday spirit? Just by reading your reviews I can :-))

  6. Hi Stella! This was a fun one, I'm glad you had it on your list because there's no way I'd have found it at Goodreads without it. I'm totally thinking of fudge now. Peanut butter, peppermint, pecan, mocha swirl…

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

