"Waiting On" Wednesday: Grave Mercy

Waiting on Wednesday

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

When it’s my turn to do the WoW, I always agonize for a few minutes over which book to feature on the post. There’s so many to choose from and I always want to pick the best one. I know, I know.. I’m crazy. Besides, Barbara always posts the best books and that has added to the insanity. I have to beat her. ;-D

I think I stumbled upon this book on my Goodreads feed, seeing it when someone else added it to their list. I was drawn in at first by the red dress (don’t you just love red dresses?!), and the girl holding the cross bow. Plus, it looked like a historical. That’s a beautiful combination right there my friends. Then I read the synopsis and I was hooked. Handmaiden of death? Sign me up!

Grave MercyGrave Mercy

By R.L. LaFevers
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: March 7, 2012
Genre: Historical Young Adult Fantasy

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

Goodreads Summary

Cait

P.S. Can you believe tomorrow is Thanksgiving?! I’m doing the dinner all by myself for the first time this year, so I’ll be spending most of the day flying around in a panic trying to get everything ready. Hope everyone has a wonderful day filled with family, food and football. Yet another beautiful combination. Happy Thanksgiving y’all!

Comments

  1. Woot! Another one of Grave Mercy. It sounds wonderful, thank you for sharing!My pick:http://mochalattereads.blogspot.com/2011/11/waiting-on-wednesday33.htmlWendy from A Cupcake and a Latte: YA Reviews

  2. Before today I've never heard of it and now it's the second time I've seen it in less than 5 minutes. Historicals aren't usually for me, but I like the sound of this.My WOW

  3. Oh. I LOVE this cover! The book sounds very good! I have to tell my friend about this book since she likes this kind of story. Great choice! Thank you for sharing!SamBooks For All Seasons

  4. This was one of my picks last week it sounds so good I can't wait, here's minehttp://headstuckinabook.blogspot.com/2011/11/waiting-on-wednesday-6.html

  5. I have an ARC of this sitting on my bed right now. I definitely agree that the term "handmaiden of death" grabbed my attention. I featured this as my WOW choice a few weeks ago. I can't wait to read this, but it's still a little early yet. I have faith that it's going to be amazing, though. 🙂

  6. This book looks really good and is very popular. Can't wait to read it. =]Here is My WoW

  7. Like I say week after week, great bloggers think alike. YA Bookie Monster also picked this book for her week's WoW post. Must be because it seems really good. :)Hope you can visit my WoW post this week:http://thetravelingreader.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/waiting-on-wednesday-5/– Mauie from The Traveling Reader

  8. Just saw this one on another blog, great pick! I just fell in love with the summary!Check out my WoW picks for this week

  9. Grave Mercy just looks soooo good. Can't wait :)Here's my WOW pick.KatWit and Sin

  10. Gee….Another person with Grave Mercy. This was my pick last week. Great choice.GraceLivre De Amour-Books of Love

  11. Good luck on making the Thanksgiving dinner! I have yet to venture down that road. Easter is my dedicated hosting holiday, and I make that a potluck! me = lazy at cooking I did make biscuits that looked like bunnies one year though. That was my final effort at cooking.

  12. I'm very excited for this and I feel like I'm not the only one. Many people are waiting for this one today and I can't get enough of this gorgeous cover.Love your blog, btw. New follower. :)CarinaFictional Distraction

  13. I am SO waiting on this one as well!! I love the cover, so gorgeous! 🙂 I really hope it's awesome. 🙂

  14. Oooh this looks AWESOME!!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

