Demon Bait

Demon BaitBy Moira Rogers

Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: Nov 29, 2011
Genre: Paranormal Romance / Cyberpunk
Source: Author

Fifty years after a demon apocalypse devastated the world, summoners still bear the bulk of the blame. Marci lives in secret, hiding the gifts that could cost her a secure spot in one of humanity’s underground cities, and access to their virtual world. After all, her chances of avoiding the genetic-testing lotto are better than her chances of surviving topside.

The bastard son of a terrifying incubus, lust heats Gabe’s blood and sex fuels his magic. Innate charm and charisma help him navigate the cultural gap between the outcast town he calls home and the human settlements he infiltrates for trade. His latest mission nets him an unexpected asset–a summoner strong enough to soothe his darkest needs.

Trust a half demon, especially one who uses a lockdown to trap them together? Not in this lifetime. Yet Marci can’t resist Gabe’s offer to see her safely to a selective outcast settlement where she can live without fear. The journey alone is as dangerous as the way Gabe makes her heart race, but it could be her one hope of a real life.

If only she could be sure Gabe’s telling her the whole truth…

Goodreads Summary

I want to start off by saying that I’m a fan of this author duo. I’ve read and enjoyed their Southern Arcana series, as well as a few of the Red Rock Pass books. I’ve looked forward to this release, since anything written by these two ladies seemed a sure bet. Plus, I had a hard time putting this in one particular genre and I knew it would be unlike anything I’d read before.

Marci is living a secret life, hiding who her talents and abilities from everyone around her from fear of being killed. While in her cubicle one fateful day, a stranger walks into her computer lab (of sorts) and she is immediately drawn to him. Surprisingly, he can’t seem to take his eyes off of her either. After years of purposefully blending into the background, she is intrigued by the mysterious stranger. A few minutes into their staring match, the security system for their little underground city goes off line and everyone rushes in a panic to get supplies and head to the safety of their rooms. Gabe manipulates Marci into helping him and they find themselves enduring the lock down together. Gave somehow knows what Marci is, convinces her to leave her life behind and follow him to his home: a city filled with people like her who can life safely and freely.

They end up escaping the lock down, going to another safe location to wait out the Demon attack (did I mention that’s why the city is underground and they were in lock down? Apparently demons attacked and took over the world). Marci and Gabe struggle to trust each other fully even while their feelings continue to grow for each other.

Does my synopsis clear anything up for you? No? Me neither. I’ve rewritten those last few paragraphs several times and I finally decided to throw the towel in and move on. I’ve even read the dang thing and I still don’t know how to describe it. This book defies any one genre. It’s one big apocalyptic-sciece fiction-techie-paranormal romance mess. While I think it’s brave that this author duo decided to step outside everyone’s comfort zones, the book just seemed off.

First, I had no idea it was a novella. I normally avoid novellas like the plague, since I’ve only read a handful that have been successfully done. I was reading along, and looked down at the progress bar and it was at 40% or something and the characters had only been together a few hours. Then the book ended at 80%, so I’m sure you can imagine how rushed everything was. In this case, I feel that the length worked against the story. If I’m going to be thrown into a mish-mash world with different language and terms, I’m going to need a bit longer to feel comfortable in it. An 87 page book just ain’t going to cut it.

I think the overall feeling I had regarding this book was confusion. I didn’t understand why the world was the way it was in the first place. I didn’t feel like the apocalypse aspect of the story was explained very well at all. Science fiction/techie has its own weird brand of jargon, and since I’ve only read a few sci-fi novels, I had a hard time following along with the world building. Every person had a pair of glasses and they all connected mentally to this computer world dimension. I had no idea what the purpose of that was, or how it developed, or what it had to do with the story. The people could live a whole life in this alternate dimension, even going so far as to have sex with someone else, and it was all in the mind. Again, I probably would have caught on eventually but the book was too short and I didn’t have enough time.

Even the romance was partly confusing. I didn’t feel like the characters themselves had any glaring flaws, but they weren’t exactly memorable either. As with everything else, yet again, the love story felt too easy and rushed. One second she’s living her life and doing a good job of hiding herself, and the next she’s trusting a complete stranger and practically giving up her free will to him. And within hours of meeting, she jumps into bed with him and falls in love. They had hardly any time to get to know each other. I didn’t feel any chemistry between Gabe and Marci, and while there were some bedroom scenes, it was more clinical than sizzling.

My Summary: This book just wasn’t for me. I really admire Moira Rogers’ attempt at doing something new and different, but it just didn’t come together like I had hoped. Everything happened way too fast, parts of the story didn’t mesh well together and the one that could have saved it all, the romance, just wasn’t their best work. A few other popular bloggers have given it high ratings on Goodreads, so maybe this book and I just didn’t get along. Perhaps this is one of those times you’ll have to read the book yourself and decide what you think.

My Rating: C-

Cait

Comments

  1. Oh too bad dude!!! The synopsis sounds so awesome too! I hate when the 'world' is explained thouroughly enough to where I GET why it is the way it is!!! Great review woman!

  2. I'm so sorry it didn't work for you! 😦 If you decide you'd like to give the series another chance some time, the next book is a full length novel and might provide more of the answers and explanation you were looking for. (And I'm happy to send you a copy.) Either way, thanks so much for giving it a try!

  3. Bree – I will definitely be giving the rest of the series a try. Everyone else seems to love Demon Bait and now I'm wondering what the heck my deal is! I love your books, so I'm not sure why this didn't work for me. Maybe the next one will clear everything up and make it all better. 😉

  4. Hey, sometimes books and novellas just don't work for people, and I totally get it. 🙂 I hope you enjoy Hammer Down more!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

