"Waiting on" Wednesday: For Darkness Shows the Stars

Waiting on Wednesday

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

I feel weird admitting it, but I’ve never read Diana Peterfreund before.  She’s one of those authors whose books I see and I think, “oh yeah, I really have to get that one,” but I never do.  Okay, so I have a lot of those.  Most authors.  Okay, I want to read everything.  But I’m going to get this one because it looks terrific (hello, inspired by Persuasion) and not just because the cover is to die for.  And I really do want to start reading Diana Peterfreund.

For Darkness Shows the StarsFor Darkness Shows the Stars

By Diana Peterfreund
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: June 12, 2012
Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Generations ago, a genetic experiment gone wrong—the Reduction—decimated humanity, giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.

Eighteen-year-old Luddite Elliot North has always known her place in this caste system. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family’s estate over love. But now the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jumpstarting the wheel of progress and threatening Luddite control; Elliot’s estate is floundering; and she’s forced to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth—an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliott wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she abandoned him.

But Elliot soon discovers her childhood friend carries a secret—-one that could change the society in which they live…or bring it to its knees. And again, she’s faced with a choice: cling to what she’s been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she’s ever loved, even if she has lost him forever.

Inspired by Jane Austen’s PERSUASION, FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS is a breathtaking romance about opening your mind to the future and your heart to the one person you know can break it.

Goodreads Summary

Barbara

Comments

  1. Wow this looks so good and I love the cover <333!! Thanks so much for giving me another book to look out for!Love your blog, new follower:D!

  2. Love that title. Thanks.

  3. OMG great pick! WANT NOW!Feel free to check out my WOWKrazyyme @ Young Readers

  4. I just got to hear Diana talk about this book at YALL Fest! It sounds awesome!!!

  5. Oh this one I'm really looking forward to as well! And that cover is gorgeous!GiselleXpresso Reads

  6. I'm looking forward to this one too! Great pick. Please check out my WoW!

  7. Umm… AWESOME. This looks really good. But June is so far away!!!

  8. I go through a lot of lists for 2012 reads, and this one of many that always caught my eye. I love the stars camouflaging with her dress. Great pick.Thanks for commenting on ours.-Emilia @ The Story Seekers

  9. Thanks for stopping by. Great pick, I haven't heard of this one yet but I am definitely adding it to my list. The cover is gorgeous also!

  10. This cover's absolutely gorgeous! I'm been mooning over it since it was released. Great pick!My WOW

  11. Oooo!!! I haven't heard of this one before! I'll have to keep my eye on it!

  12. Great choice! I had never heard of this one before today. Since it's based on an Austen novel,it should be great. Thanks for sharing!Thank you for stopping by The Bookish Babes!

  13. Don't feel bad, I haven't read any of her books before either and I've met her and have one of her previous books signed! lolThis one does look really good. Great choice.

  14. I haven't heard of this one! Great choice :)http://brunettelibrarian.blogspot.com

  15. I've seen this, but this is the first time I really took note of the plot. Persuasion? I think I'll be adding it to my wishlist.I've read the first book in her Secret Society Girl/Ivy League series. Really enjoyed it and I will (soon, I hope) read the rest. 😀

  16. Hmmm…this one sounds so interesting! I'll have to add it to my wish list :o)

  17. Wonderful pick! I haven't heard of this one before. (Sighs) The cover is absolutely gorgeous. Definitely adding it to my list. Thanks for sharing.

  18. Hey, don't feel bad…I have never even HEARD of Diana Peterfreund. I will have to look into her books. Thanks for the recommendation!Thanks for stopping by and checking out my WOW: http://darlenesbooknook.blogspot.com/2011/11/waiting-on-wednesday-lover-reborn-by-jr.html

  19. Wow, this sounds so good!!! Great pick!

  20. I've never read Diana Peterfreund either, but I'm thinking I'll have to give this one a try. The concept is brilliant!Thanks for stopping by the Bookshelf. 🙂

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

