Our Comfort Reads: The Order of the Phoenix

Our Comfort Reads is our own blog feature that Barbara and I use to highlight and recommend books that we read when we need a little pick-me-up. Whether we’re overwhelmed with our TBR pile, need a break from a bad run of books or just want something familiar to read that we know will deliver a good story and a happy ending, these are the books we turn to and we hope that you’ll enjoy them too.

Yesterday I went out and bought Deathly Hallows Part 2, and it was a bittersweet moment for me. While I love this series, I am sad that there isn’t anything left to look forward to. I’m watching the movie tomorrow night with the hubs for date night (such an exciting life I lead…), and I thought featuring my favorite book of the series for the post today would be appropriate.

I’m not sure why this book is my favorite, since Umbridge makes me cranky and Harry himself is a bit of a jerk for a lot of the book. Whatever the reason, when I need my HP fix, I head for this book every time. I won’t do an involved summary, since you’ve either read the book or watched the movie, and if you haven’t done either… then you’re an idiot. And I say that with all the love in my heart. I think out of all the books I’ve ever read, this series is my favorite. Every time I dive into the world of Harry Potter, I feel like I’m coming home.

The series, and this book in particular, is my favorite comfort read out of all the books I’ve ever read.

The Order of the PhoenixHarry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix

By J.K. Rowling
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 21, 2003
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor, and it’s haunting Harry Potter’s dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

Here are just a few of the things on Harry’s mind:

• A Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher with a personality like poisoned honey
• A venomous, disgruntled house-elf
• Ron as Keeper of the Gryffindor Quidditch team
• The looming terror of the end-of-term Ordinary Wizarding Level exams

. . . and of course, the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.

In the richest installment yet of J.K. Rowling’s seven-part story, Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

Though thick runs the plot (as well as the spine), readers will race through these pages and leave Hogwarts, like Harry, wishing only for the next train back.

Goodreads Summary

Cait

Comments

  1. Uh oh, I seriously don't know if I've read this one so I'm going to have to wear the dunce cap. lol I have them all, I just don't know if I've gotten to them all. My nephew adores them though, the little stinker talks my ear off about them. 😉

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

