Guest Post: Haunted Heroes by Lucianne Rivers

Tuesday was “Young Readers Day”. I don’t write children’s books, or even YA, but I was a young reader. As a toddler, my parents never failed to read me a bed time story at night. This transitioned to my reading of The Hobbit on my own by the age of eight. My mother Hold Mehad done the best impression of Golum I’ve ever heard, so when I waded my way through Tolkien’s words, her voice was in my ear.I was reading Austen and the Brontes by eleven or twelve. I truly believe that Mr. Rochester and Heathcliff made an impression as far as my current image of a romantic hero. Do I want to hear my name called in desperation across a windswept moor by a surly but noble man? Yes. Although we only have desert in New Mexico–no heather ridden moors or mist. Should he have a troubled past, which he tries to overcome because he’s so in love and trying to be a better person? Yes. Should he have a big house and a carriage by fair means or foul? Yes.

Well, the last point, not so much.

There’s something about the haunted hero that makes we want to learn to ride a horse so I can gallop in his direction or have a dog Entice Menamed Pilot.

Thrill MeAs for giving young readers some distinct ideas about romantic love? I don’t if it’s done me more harm than good. Identifying with Jane Eyre or Shirley at an impressionable age may not have guided me toward the normal expectations for loving relationships. But it did spark my imagination and I can say for certain that my life has never been boring. Except for a nine month stint at a Fire Safety Engineer’s–that was pretty boring.

And I here I am almost twenty years later writing haunted heroes of my own. Although, I hope my books aren’t being read by eleven year-olds. They are NOT my target audience.

So, if you’re over eighteen and still consider yourself a “young reader” in terms of imagination, you might want to check out HOLD ME, THRILL ME, ENTICE ME and the journey of three sisters finding love with tortured, beautiful heroes of their own.

~Lucianne

Author Bio: Formerly a stage and television actress, she now manages a non-profit and is NM State Champion in her weight class for Olympic style weightlifting. Long story. Recently she has taken up Crossfit, Jiu Jitsu and boxing. romantic suspense for Entangled Publishing and Cobblestone Press. Born and raised in Ireland, she currently lives in New Mexico with her young daughter.

Comments

  1. Holy cow! I can't believe you read The Hobbit at 8. I'm twenty something and have yet to read it. Not that I've tried really, but still. I love me some tortured heroes though!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

