2012 Ebook Challenge

Time to add another challenge for 2012!  This is one of my favorites and one that’s easiest for me to set a goal and attain it.  A lot of what I read is digital, some digital-only and this past year for the challenge, the books that I counted were the ones that were digital only.

This year Sarah at Workaday Reads is taking over for last year’s hostess, The Ladybug Reads and with participation, there’ll be drawings each month for prizes plus a grand prize at the end of the year.  Sounds fun!  Here are the details:

Challenge Guidelines:This challenge will run from Jan 1, 2012 – Dec 31, 2012.

Anyone can join, you don’t need to be a blogger. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to sign-up in the comments. You can post reviews to any book site (i.e. Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Goodreads, etc).

  • Any genre or length of book counts, as long as it is in ebook format.
  • You can list your books in advance or just put them in a wrap-up post. If you list them, feel free to change them as the mood takes you.
  • When you sign up in the linky, put the direct link to your post about joining the E-Book Reading Challenge.
  • You can move up levels, but no moving down.
  • Sign-ups will be open until Dec 15, 2012, so feel free to join at any time throughout the year.

Levels:

Floppy disk – 5 ebooks
CD – 10 ebooks
DVD – 25 ebooks
Memory stick – 50 ebooks
Hard drive – 75 ebooks
Server – 100 ebooks
Human brain – 150 ebooks

At the beginning of each month there will be a roundup post for you to add your reviews for that month. If you forget, feel free to add your reviews in the following month. Any reviews submitted will be entered into the draw for that month.

Yes, there will be draws every month for participants. As long as you are signed up below, every review you add to the monthly roundups will get one entry into the giveaway for that month.

There will also be a grand giveaway at the end of the year for eveyone who achieves their goal level (or higher). There may be different prizes for different levels, but that is not decided yet. If you are an author and want to contribute to the monthly or grand prizes, please contact Sarah.

If you’d like to join in (you can sign up at any time), the linky is open at Workaday Reads 2012 Ebook Challenge Sign-Up Page, along with instructions!
I think I’m going to start with Hard Drive (75 ebooks).  This year the highest level was 20, I believe, and I reached that a long time ago.  I figure if my overall goal for next year is to read over 250 books, 75 can’t be too unreasonable.
Comments

  1. Thanks for signing up!I figured I better have a wide variety of levels. I just reached my 200th book of the year, and wanted to make sure I didn't finish my own challenge really early in the year.

  2. This is a fun one for me to keep track of – when I'm done with the year I'm going to go back through my reviews to see how many of them were ebooks. I read so many that I don't review, it's too bad those don't count. 😉

  3. New follower and i joined the challenge. This looks like fun :0Please stop by and enter my giveaway for a gift card..http://kimbathecaffeinatedbookreviewer.blogspot.com/

  4. Hi Kimba! I do love this challenge. 🙂 Hopefully I'll end up pushing myself past Hard Drive, but I was too chicken to declare it yet. lolThanks for following, I stopped by your site and and followed back – and thanks for the heads up on your terrific follower giveaway!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

