Guest Post and Giveaway with Author Shauna Granger

I recently had the opportunity to read Shauna Granger’s really terrific book, Earth, the first in her Elemental series.  I had a chance to ask Shauna about the inspirations for her characters (I admit, I secretly wanted to know if she ever wanted to base a character on an evil relative, but she isn’t as mean as me and wouldn’t do that!).  She sat down and told me where a little bit of a couple of the characters in the series came from and sent along a little eye candy casting as well.Keep reading after Shauna’s great post, there’ll be an opportunity to win a copy of an ebook of Earth as well as chances to win paperback copies of Earth and the second book in the series, Air (Elementals #2), which will be released October 31st.~Barbara

Emily Browning

Emily Browning as Shayna

There is an old saying that no one knows who said it first, but it holds true for all writers: “Don’t annoy the writer; they may put you in a book and kill you.”

Tyler Posey

Tyler Posey as Steven

Yes we all put a similar disclaimer in the front of our book “This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places and incidents either are the product of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously and any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, business establishments, events or locales is entirely coincidental.” And for the most part, this is true. Our characters are our own and not real people.

This is also true for my characters. My characters are figments of my imagination, they may have the same hairstyle as someone I know, or maybe they have some of the same personality traits because I found them interesting, but all in all, these characters are my invisible friends. But that doesn’t mean I wasn’t thinking of someone I once knew when writing a scene to make it a little more… cathartic.

AnnaSophia Robb

AnnaSophia Robb as Jodi

I have had my fair share of crappy, loser boyfriends, just like most girls do, but there was this one boyfriend who was particularly horrible. He never hit me or anything like that, let’s just make that clear right now, but that didn’t mean he wasn’t still a bad person. He was an insanely jealous guy and as our relationship went on he just seemed to get crazier and crazier until one day I finally woke up and realized I had had enough. I could go into more detail, but it’s a little too personal and let’s face it, a real bummer.

Alex Pettyfer

Alex Pettyfer as Jensen and Ian

Anyway, after our break up I realized how many friendships I had nearly lost because I didn’t realize he was pushing them and pulling me away. And it goes without saying; he did not take the break up well. So when I look back at that time I wish I hadn’t wasted so much time on him and a small, petty part of me still wishes horrible things for him. So when I was writing Earth and I came to the point where Shayna’s friend, Tracy, was dealing with her abusive, despicable boyfriend I was able to call up that time in my life and remember how I felt when I finally ended things with my despicable boyfriend. I grinned and laughed with glee as I typed out the scenes where Shayna and Ian punished him with physical injuries and that small petty part of me danced a jig. I know, it’s not every Zen or enlightened of me, but I’m still human and I’m still a writer, so if you annoy me or piss me off, yes, you may just end up as my muse as I write a particularly angry scene in my books.

Now, just so you don’t think too poorly of me, there is one character in my supporting cast who is not a villain that a real person inspired. Deb, the manager of the Oak, Ash and Thorn, is based on a real person. In my town there is a metaphysical shop that I frequented in high school and still shop at occasionally. But when I was in high school there was a clerk there who, to me, was the physical embodiment of light and love. She was always there for anyone, even a stranger, if they needed help. She was always smiling and if I went into the store on her day off, I felt a little sad to have missed her. So when I write about Deb in my books, I think of that wonderful lady and I hope she is still doing well and making people happy.

See? Writers aren’t totally crazy.

~Shauna

Now on to the giveaway!


Shauna is graciously giving away a digital copy of Earth to one lucky  person* who comments on this post between now and October 30th, 2011 at midnight (open internationally).  Just comment and make sure you leave your email address – simple, simple!

In addition, if you comment at each of the other blog stops on the Earth tour, you’ll have a chance to win one of two Grand Prizes – a signed print copy Shauna’s second book, Air (Elemental #2) plus a bookmark or a signed print copy of Earth (Elemental #1) and a bookmark.

*if you’re entering to win the Grand Prizes and you’ve won a digital copy of Earth on another blog stop, please let me know so I can choose a second winner.

Comments

  1. This sounds really good, thanks for the giveaway!Erin @ Let's Evaluateletsevaluate@yahoo.com

  2. I love who Shauna's "cast" as the characters! I definitely agree with them. There is definitely an ex-boyfriend in my past I'd like to "beat up" in a book. (That sounds mean, but sometimes they do deserve it..LOL!)

  3. I would love to read this :)Thank you so much for the giveaway!Rathouska(dot)jana(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. I enjoyed the post and I'm looking forward to learning more about this series.Barbed1951 at aol dot com

  5. the book are going to be top desitheblonde@msn.com

  6. Sounds great! I love the characters you chose for your book cast! Your book sounds great! thanks!Lissette_125 at hotmail dot com

  7. I think it's interesting that you drew some inspiration for some characters from real people. I think it's a great way to get out hurt or angry feelings by making someone the villian.helpersarah2009@gmail.com

  8. Thank you for participating. 😉

  9. Thanks so much! It was a lot of fun sharing and I'm glad so many like my casting choices 🙂

  10. It's great to see who would best fit the characters. I would love to read EARTH thank you.marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  11. thanks for the giveaway!darksiry(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. Thanks for the chance to win!talkincode@gmail.com

  13. thanks for the giveaway. the book sounds awesome.witchvela at web dot de

  14. This sounds exciting! :)veronicam46@hotmail.com

  15. I love books about magic that are natural, as earth, fire, rain etc. Looking forward to checking out this series.Earth would be my element as I love to garden.(\___/)(='.'=) (")_(")alterlisa AT yahoo DOT comhttp://lisaslovesbooksofcourse.blogspot.com/

  16. Thanks everyone, for stopping by, commenting and entering the giveaway. Lissette was the winner! If she's already won a copy at another blog stop, I'll be choosing an alternate winner.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

