"Waiting On" Wednesday: The Hedgewitch Queen (Hedgewitch #1)

Waiting on Wednesday

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

This week I picked a book that I’m interested in for a few reasons.  First, it sounds great – a Princesse and a King’s Guard on the run from an evil sorcerer.  The whole description sounds very opulent and delicious and it’s Lilith Saintcrow, so you know, duh.  Second, it’s the very first ebook-only release by Orbit, which I find sort of fascinating because I’m weird that way.  It’ll be interesting to see if they put the same effort into the editing process as they do with their print books.  Third – the cover ‘ho in me was petting and drooling over the cover long before I even knew about reason one and two.  She’s so ridiculous like that, I can hardly take her anywhere.

The Hedgewitch QueenThe Hedgewitch Queen (Hedgewitch #1)

By Lilith Saintcrow
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: December 1, 2011
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Vianne di Rocancheil is a lady waiting at the Court of Arquitaine, where she studies her books, watches for intrigue, and shepherds her foolhardy Princesse through the glittering whirl. Court is a sometimes-unpleasant waltz, especially for the unwary, but Vianne treads its measured steps well.

Unfortunately, the dance has changed. Treachery is afoot in gilded and velvet halls. A sorcerous conspiracy is unleashed, with blood, death, and warfare close behind. Vianne must flee, carrying the Great Seal of Arquitaine with her. This is the one thing the conspirators need to rule, and they won’t rest until they have it. A life of dances, intrigues, and fashion has not prepared Vianne for this. Nor has it prepared her for Tristan d’Arcenne, Captain of the King’s Guard and player in the most dangerous games conspiracy can devise. Yet to save her country and avenge her Princesse, Vianne will become what she must and do whatever is required.

A Queen can do no less.

Goodreads Summary

Barbara

Comments

  1. This sounds like a fantastic book. Never heard of it before! Coming very soon too!GiselleXpresso Reads

  2. I haven't heard of this one, but it sounds interesting. Hope you enjoy it. My WoW!

  3. Great pick! Sounds interesting 😉 I've seen this cover model 3-4 times now on different books!Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Thanks for stopping by! This books sounds outstanding! The cover is stunning!I would highly recommend the series, it is hard to catch up sometimes I know what that is like.LIsa

  5. Where have I been? I've never heard of this before. Adding it to my TBR list now!

  6. Where have I been?Sooooo not touching this comment..;)

  7. Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog :)This sounds brilliant and I've head awesome things about the author!! Great pick :)http://flippingthroughthepages00.blogspot.com/

  8. I have a soft spot for book that have their hero and heroine on the run from danger or mortal peril…lol. And on the run with the Captain of the King's guard? Yes, please. 😉 Just added it to my Goodreads TBR. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  9. Like everyone else, I've never heard of this one. The cover is gorgeous and the summary sounds interesting.

  10. That cover is being use a lot. I thought it was a different book at first.My WOW

  11. Oh wow, that sounds so good! I just LOVE books that have something to do with hierarchies and the whole dark fairy tale-ish feel to this one is right up my alley! 🙂 Awesome pick for your WOW, Barbara! Thank you so much for stopping by!

  12. I'd not heard of that one, but it sounds pretty good!Thanks for stopping by!JessThe Romanceaholic

  13. I just discovered this book earlier today! It sounds really awesome, and I love the cover! Great pick!

  14. That cover is AWESOME!! AND, it sounds cool too. Great, another book to add to the mammoth TBR pile :)Erika Badass

  15. I agree, the cover is beautiful. Sounds like an intriguing fantasy.Thanks for visiting me today!★Diana★

  16. Thanks for stopping by and for being a new follower!Sounds good, I'll have to check this one out.

  17. I agree, the cover is beautiful. Sounds like an intriguing fantasy.

  18. This sounds fantastic and very different from Strange Angels. I will have to add it to my TBR list. Great pick!

  19. I haven't heard of The Hedgewitch Queen before. Gorgeous cover. Adding it to my list.

  20. The cover looks amazing! Never heard of this one before though…Need to add it to my wishlist! 😀

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

