Mini Review: Sins of the Angels (Grigori Legacy #1)

Sins of the Angels
By Linda Poitevin

Publisher: Ace Books
Publication Date: September 27, 2011
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

A detective with a secret lineage. An undercover Hunter with a bullet-proof soul. And a world made to pay for the sins of an angel…

Homicide detective Alexandra Jarvis answers to no one. Especially not to the new partner assigned to her in the middle of a gruesome serial killer case—a partner who is obstructive, irritatingly magnetic, and arrogant as hell.

Aramael is a Power—a hunter of the Fallen Angels. A millennium ago, he sentenced his own brother to eternal exile for crimes against humanity. Now his brother is back and wreaking murderous havoc in the mortal realm. To find him, Aramael must play second to a human police officer who wants nothing to do with him and whose very bloodline threatens both his mission and his soul.

Now, faced with a fallen angel hell-bent on triggering the apocalypse, Alex and Aramael have no choice but to join forces, because only together can they stop the end of days.

Goodreads Summary

A serial killer is on the loose in Toronto, targeting people on the edges of society – those who usually aren’t missed.  He’s savagely cutting into them and then posing them in a gruesome parody of Jesus’ crucifixion.  The police have pulled in every homicide detective but so far, they’ve hit a brick wall – the killer leaves absolutely nothing behind.

The police may not know who or what they’re dealing with, but someone does – a Power in heaven named Aramael, whose job it is to hunt down the Fallen.  The killer is his brother and he’s been sent back to earth to dispense justice – but he has to pretend to be human and pair up with Toronto homicide detective Alex Jarvis to find him first.  His job only includes Alex because he’s been told she doesn’t have a Guardian – because she’s a Nephra, a descendant of a Nephilim and may be the very thing his brother has been hunting for.

This worked really well for me strictly as an urban fantasy.  I liked the “angel” element – angel goes in quotes because they really don’t get called that.  There are all sorts of different designations and in what is the most interesting little twist of all, The One is a female presence and is accessible.  She even has sort of an office.  There’s lots of intrigue going on there that will keep the series interesting long past the end of Aramael’s brother’s story.

I liked Alex a lot (I did not like the cover image of her – I’m doing my best to get that out of my head, it doesn’t fit what I think her character looks like), she’s a strong woman and a good cop who has the respect of her colleagues.  She has reason to be afraid of Aramael and what he represented to her life but she also knew he was key to finding the killer and dug in and did what she needed to.  She’s someone I’d like to read more about.

Aramael was less interesting to me, mostly because he seemed to be led around by what fate or duty told him he had to do.  For his great age, Alex kept surprising him.  You’d think he’d have seen it and done it all by now.  I hate to say that I didn’t believe in their romance much.  It came out of left field and I thought the reasoning behind it was sort of cheap.  I wish it had developed more slowly – I could even have waited a book.

I didn’t like the ending and frankly given the way I’ve felt about endings in other books lately, I was tempted to drop this a half grade or so given the way this wrapped up and the rotten epilogue that will lead into the next book.  The only reason I didn’t is because I really like Alex and if I continue to read, it’ll be because of her.

My Rating: B-

Barbara

Comments

  1. k, tnx 4 your thoughts

  2. Oh too bad for the end… I've this one in my TBR pile, I'll know soon if it's the same for me. Thanks for this great review

  3. Thanks, roro. :)Melliane, it's a shocker of an ending. I think it was especially hard for me because of the books I've read lately that have had really, really bad endings. But still. lolI hope you enjoy it the book though, maybe your thoughts on the ending will be 180 degrees from mine. 🙂

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

