Spotlight: Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days #1)

AngelfallBy Susan Ee

Publisher: Feral Dream
Publication Date: May 21, 2011
Genre: Dystopian Young Adult
Source: Purchased

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Goodreads Summary

Disaster has struck at my house. Our computer died. I know.. tragic. It’s in the shop for repair, and meanwhile I’m forced to use the computers at our local library. I meant for this to be a full review, but there’s only so much I can do with an hour.

Barbara heard about this book from Has over at The Bookpushers, and who turned right around and told me about it. I looked it up, and for only $2.99, I said.. what the heck? I’ll give it a try. And boy howdy, am I grateful I paid attention.

Angelfall is one of the best books I’ve read all year. Seriously. I could not put it down once I began to read it. Thankfully my munchkin was already in bed for the night, or I would have definitely been taken out of the running for the Mother of the Year award. Angelfall is intense. It’s gritty. It’s addicting. I gasped in horror at some parts, teared up at others. Susan Ee did not give her characters a world filled with rainbows and fluffy bunnies. If I was expected to survive in the world Penryn is now faced with, I’m not sure I’d make it. Even though Penryn was young, she was seriously one tough chick. She’s had to face more hardships and trials in her short life than any character I think I’ve ever read. Raffe is.. amazing. Gorgeous. Strong. I could never tell whose side he was on. The uncertainty made everything that more intense. Is he using Penryn? Would he eventually turn on her? What the… is he falling in love with her?! You’ll just to read it and find out for yourself. 😉

Buy it. Read it now. Or, you know, at night after your kids go to bed if you are anything like me. ‘Cause once you start, you won’t want to stop. And umm.. Ms. Ee? Can we have the next book soon please?

My Rating: A+

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

