On My Wishlist (14)

On My Wishlist

On My Wishlist is a Saturday meme hosted by the lovely Book Chick City and Mr. Linky is always ready to go on-site there if you’d like to join in.
I’ve been regularly irregular about posting my wishlists but since this has been a crazy week, I thought I’d settle back into a routine with a nice “I want, I want!” post.
Both of my picks this week are YA and all demony-evil and violent and of course, I want to pet the covers.

FrostFrost
By Marianna Baer
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: September 13, 2011

Leena Thomas’s senior year at boarding school begins with a shock: Frost House, her cozy dorm of close friends, has been assigned an unexpected roommate: confrontational, eccentric Celeste Lazar. But while Leena’s anxiety about a threat to her sanctuary proves valid, it becomes less and less clear whether the threat lies with her new roommate, within Leena’s own mind, or within the very nature of Frost House itself. Mysterious happenings in the dorm, an intense triangle between Leena, Celeste, and Celeste’s brother, and the reawakening of childhood fears, all push Leena to take increasingly desperate measures to feel safe. Frost is the story of a haunting. As to whether the demons are supernatural or psychological . . . well, which answer would let you sleep at night?

Goodreads Summary

The PledgeThe Pledge
By Kimberly Derting
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Publication Date: November 15, 2011

In the violent country of Ludania, the classes are strictly divided by the language they speak. The smallest transgression, like looking a member of a higher class in the eye while they are speaking their native tongue, results in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina has always been able to understand the languages of all classes, and she’s spent her life trying to hide her secret. The only place she can really be free is the drug-fueled underground clubs where people go to shake off the oppressive rules of the world they live in. It’s there that she meets a beautiful and mysterious boy named Max who speaks a language she’s never heard before . . . and her secret is almost exposed.

Charlie is intensely attracted to Max, even though she can’t be sure where his real loyalties lie. As the emergency drills give way to real crisis and the violence escalates, it becomes clear that Charlie is the key to something much bigger: her country’s only chance for freedom from the terrible power of a deadly regime.

Goodreads Summary

So what’s on your wishlist this week?

Barbara

Comments

  1. Very cool! Frost is already on my TBR list, but I think I'll have to add Pledge to it. They both sound really neat and slightly creepy.My Wishlist

  2. Nice picks. They both sound like great reads. I will have to add them to my list.Book Sniffers Anonymous

  3. Never heard of Frost before but I love the sound of it!! 🙂

  4. Frost sounds great. My total wishlist stands at 854 books, an increase of 13 books since last week. My featured wish is After the Party by Lisa Jewell. Come see why.

  5. These both look like good books. I especially love their covers.Feel free to check out what's on my wishlist this week.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

