Summer’s Crossing (Iron Fey #3.5)

Summer's CrossingBy Julie Kagawa

Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: June 1, 2011
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Source: Publisher

A Midsummer’s Nightmare? Robin Goodfellow. Puck. Summer Court prankster, King Oberon’s right hand, bane of many a faery queen’s existence—and secret friend to Prince Ash of the Winter Court. Until one girl’s death came between them, and another girl stole both their hearts.

Now Ash has granted one favor too many and someone’s come to collect, forcing the prince to a place he cannot go without Puck’s help—into the heart of the Summer Court. And Puck faces the ultimate choice—betray Ash and possibly win the girl they both love, or help his former friend turned bitter enemy pull off a deception that no true faery prankster could possibly resist.

Goodreads Summary

Having just left Meghan behind, Ash and Puck are searching for Grimalkin, the enigmatic cat that’s popped in and out to help them all whenever they’ve needed it on their journey.  As they’re about to begin, they’re interrupted by Leanansidhe, Queen of the Exiles, who’s come to collect on the bargain she made with Ash.  She wants him to sneak into the Summer Court and retrieve something Queen Titania stole from her.  It should be a task impossible for a Winter Prince but he’s with Puck, a powerful Summer fae who loves nothing more than to make trouble for his Queen.

The long-troubled relationship between Ash and Puck had worsened when both fell in love with Meghan, but a truce had been called while they tried to find a way to help her.  On their way to the Summer Court, Puck is unexpectedly offered the chance to force Meghan’s decision.  He’s been given a choice – betray Ash and win her by default or ignore the offer and let Meghan decide.

I’ve really grown to love this series.  The first book hooked me because it was so wildly imaginative and while pieces of individual books didn’t work for me, as a whole, it’s been an amazing journey.

I didn’t care much for the first novella because it seemed a little out of place with the characters acting oddly.  Summer’s Crossing is completely different.  It has a sweet, melancholy feeling to it that reflects the way The Iron Queen ended.  Ash is a little more brooding and quiet and while Puck plays the irreverent fool like he always has, there’s an undertone of sadness.  This trip to the Summer Court is a perfect way to force them to work together, argue and get back some of their comfortable animosity and rivalry.  Puck and Ash just aren’t the same unless they’re at each other’s throats.

The one way that this is like Winter’s Passage is that there’s no resolution to anything.  It’s just a little side journey on the way to something else.  In this case, it’s the final book in the series – The Iron Knight (Iron Fey #4) is set to be released October 25, 2011 and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

My Summary: The adventure of sneaking into the Summer Court was fun but what won me were the emotions Kagawa wrung out of Ash and Puck and how familiar the characters felt in such a small space.  Read all the books in order and then read this one to get the maximum effect.

My Rating: B+

Barbara

Comments

  1. Hi Barbara, I'm a new follower from Goodreads. Liking your in-depth reviews (although I must confess that I thought Shiver was rather lovely – even given Sam's apparent lack of hormones!)http://ruthsteven.blogspot.com/

  2. Hi Ruth! Thank you so much for the follow. 🙂 I have Linger coming up shortly in my TBR pile, so I haven't given up on Maggie and her gang quite yet – I'm hoping they'll grow on me, lol.

  3. Gasp! You don't like Shiver?! Oh, the horror! 😉 I just checked out The Iron King from the library today. Everyone is raving about this series, so I thought I'd give it a go.

  4. Hi Cait 😀 Uh, I believe I might have said something about everyone wandering around being all emo..probably about Sam being neutered too. I'd have to go back and look, lol. Linger is on one of my Challenge lists and I hear it's better, so I'm giving it a chance.Well, obviously I liked the Iron Fey series. 🙂 There were pieces of The Iron Princess that I didn't like, but by the time I got into The Iron Queen they made more sense. If I can get my mitts on an ARC of The Iron Knight, as soon as it hits my hands or Kindle, no one's going to see me for a while.

  5. Iron Daughter, Iron Daughter. My brain takes a vacation now and then.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

