Shift (Shade #2)

ShiftBy Jeri Smith-Ready

Publication Date: May 3, 2011
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal
Source: Publisher

Aura’s life is anything but easy. Her boyfriend, Logan, died, and his slides between ghost and shade have left her reeling. Aura knows he needs her now more than ever. She loves Logan, but she can’t deny her connection with the totally supportive, totally gorgeous Zachary. And she’s not sure that she wants to.Logan and Zachary will fight to be the one by her side, but Aura needs them both to uncover the mystery of her past—the mystery of the Shift.

As Aura’s search uncovers new truths, she must decide whom to trust with her secrets…and her heart.

Goodreads Summary

There are going to be some necessary spoilers here for the first book, Shade.

At the end of lawsuit between his parents and the record reps that supplied the cocaine that killed him, Logan promised that he’d be at peace and let his spirit pass, but the opposite happened – his darker emotions overcame him and he turned Shade, a ghost doomed to only walk in the shadows unseen by anyone ever again.  Aura was devastated – she’d spent the time between his death and that moment easing both of them towards his ultimate passing.  Even knowing contact with a Shade is physically painful for Post-Shifters, Aura tries to get Logan to contact her for three months.  When he finally makes contact, he’s confused, afraid of being a Shade and still in love with her.  Being with her brings back – first as a ghost, that is unprecedented enough, but then for seventeen precious minutes, as flesh and blood.

Logan’s return comes not only as Aura and Zach have finally started to move forward with their relationship, but as their investigation into what started the Shift is leading to some answers.  Aura’s working so closely with Zach sets off Logan’s jealousy and Logan’s reappearance reminds Zach that Aura may not really be over him – and it all leaves Aura in an angry muddle in the middle, leading to one night of complete stupidity that threatens to tear apart entire families.

Their search for the truth about the Shift might be even more dangerous when it sends Zach and Aura on the run for their lives.

Dum da dum…  Seriously, good action stuff follows!  I know I sound like a dork for this book, just like I did for Shade, but I loved these books so much it was more difficult than usual to write these reviews.

This was also harder to rate than Shade because it had a completely different purpose to it.  Shade was emotionally driven, softer – this was full of action, turbulent emotion and there were some important relationship developments outside of the main couple/s.  Much more is learned about the origins of the Shift and Aura and Zach’s connection to it.  The way the information came out managed to tie up so many threads, make so much sense and yet leave enough to be explored in the next book was brilliant.

There were just a couple of problems for me.  Midway through the story there was definite lull.  Zach and Aura went back and forth about their relationship, Aura and Logan went back and forth about how they could only be friends and the most interesting thing going on was whom Zach was going to take to prom.  Unfortunately right after that, there were so many TSTL moments, my hand got sore from hitting my head.  It helped to remind myself that these were high-schoolers, but even then, I had trouble believing Zach and Aura would do the things they did.  I hate to be a tease, so I’m going to give a couple of sentences about what they did behind the colored text – spoil at your own risk:

Zach was angry at Aura because she rejected him at prom, and later that night he decided to have sex with his date – who had deliberately called Aura first, then left the cell phone open on the table so Aura could hear everything. He stopped and was horrified when he realized she could hear him, but angry and hurt, she retaliated by getting intimate with her date – Logan’s brother Dylan (they ultimately never had sex though).

The action picked back up from there when Zach and Aura’s investigation started to pay off.  It was a little surreal, but I think it made a nice transition from a simple paranormal ghost story to a more paranormal action/mystery/romance story.

My Summary: This is only the second book in the series and I’m already biased about it.  I love how smart the characters are (usually) and how the author manages to weave the emotional story so flawlessly into the action in this book.  This ended in a place that may have resolution for one character but leaves some questions about Zach and Aura and the Shift and where it all started.  Anyone who doesn’t want to continue the series won’t feel like they’ve been left on the edge of a cliff though.  I’m going to be one of the people begging the author to write faster – it’s just been announced that the title for the next book is Shine, but it won’t be out until the summer of 2012!

My Rating: A-

Barbara

Comments

  1. Another great review!!! I know I wish I had a copy of Shine like, right now! I can not WAIT to see how Jeri resolves the story with Zach and Aura!!!

  2. Thank you! Agh, I know – how can I wait until next summer? I really hope what happened at the end really happened (you know what I mean, lol) and wasn't a trick. Even with what happened, I love Zach. Time to move on.

  3. Glad you liked it! Are you following the tour for SHIFT that I'm hosting? Lots of prizes and deleted scenes etc.You might enjoy it.The link is up on my blog if you're interested.

  4. Hi Karen! Yep, I have been – the days that I've caught it I hadn't entered because the prizes were for copies of the books and I already had them, but the rest I've been there for. 🙂

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

