On My Wishlist (10)

On My Wishlist

The fabulous Book Chick City is the hostess of this lovely meme, where I list the books I’m hoping to add to my collection.  I’m so far behind on my reading I ought to stop even looking, but I can’t help myself – it’s an addiction, right?  Is there a name for it?  I should look.

This week I found a couple of books that are unlike anything else I’ve been reading lately.  I don’t even know how to describe them.  Geists are ghosts, by the way.

GeistGeist (Book of the Order #1)
By Philippa Ballantine

Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: October 26, 2010
Genre: Fantasy

Between the living and the dead is the Order of the Deacons, protectors of the Empire, guardians against possession, sentinels enlisted to ward off the malevolent haunting of the geists…

Among the most powerful of the Order is Sorcha, now thrust into partnership with the novice Deacon, Merrick Chambers. They have been dispatched to the isolated village of Ulrich to aide the Priory with a surge of violent geist activity. With them is Raed Rossin, Pretender to the throne that Sorcha is sworn to protect, and bearer of a terrible curse.

But what greets them in the strange settlement is something far more predatory and more horrifying than any mere haunting. And as she uncovers a tradition of twisted rituals passed down through the dark reaches of history, Sorcha will be forced to reconsider everything she thinks she knows.

And if she makes it out of Ulrich alive, what in Hell is she returning to?

SpectyrSpectyr (Book of the Order #2)
By Philippa Ballantine

Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: June 28, 2011
Genre: Fantasy

Though one of the most powerful Deacons, Sorcha Faris has a tarnished reputation to overcome, which is why she jumps at the chance to investigate a string of murders in the exotic city of Orithal. But it is there that her lover, the shapeshifting rival to the throne, is targeted by a cruel and vengeful goddess, unwittingly unleashed by the Emperor’s sister.

Goodreads Summaries

The next two books are Wrayth (2012) and Harbinger (2013), so for once I have a chance to get in on a series sort of near the beginning (ha!).

So what’s on your wishlist?

Barbara

Comments

  1. Wow – I love the sound of these books! Thanks for bringing them to my attention! 🙂

  2. The series looks delicious! Going to check them out!

  3. I have Geist, I would like to get Spectyr as well. I hope you get these books and they are everything you hope them to be. Check out what is On My Wishlist this week.

  4. the covers of these books are just so wonderful! thanks for sharing.

  5. This series sounds like a good twist to the normal scifi! Good suggestions.

  6. Oh yes… I've been wanting these as well. Yep… we need those books! 😀

  7. This week's feature wish is a picture book about a construction site. Come see why I added it.

  8. Interesting. It sounds like it might have a Kate Daniels (Ilona Andrews) feel to it. Will definitely have to check it out! Thanks for the rec.

  9. I don't usually read a lot of fantasy but these sound good. Hope you enjoy them!

  10. Both sound good and I like the book cover.кєяo's Book Blog

  11. These look good! The covers remind me of a grown up Lucy with Aslan in the background from Narnia. haha. 😀

  12. Thanks for commenting (:I haven't heard of this series yet, but it sounds interesting! I'm always late in starting series too xp

  13. Ooh, I've been looking at these too! I've seen some good reviews, but nothing that's tipped the books into the "must have" side of the list.

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

