On My Wishlist (5)

On My Wishlist
On My Wishlist is a weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and can be seen every Saturday.  It gives me a chance to list the books I’m drooling over that haven’t made their way to me yet, whether they’re new releases, oldies but goodies or things that haven’t come out yet.  If you’d like to join in the fun blog hop, just head over to my hostess’ site where Mr. Linky is always waiting for you to sign up.
I’ve sated my taste for bloodthirsty stories since I picked up Allison Hewitt is Trapped: A Zombie Novel from someone else’s wishlist a couple of weeks ago and Slice of Cherry from my own last week (I could not help myself, now I just have to find the time to actually read it).

It’s been a while since I really found a good mystery series, but this one came recommended to me by a friend and I loved that the sleuth was an odd young girl.  There are three books in the series so far, but this is the first.  🙂

Sweetness at the Bottom of the PieThe Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Flavia de Luce #1)

By Alan Bradley
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: April 28, 2009
Genre: Mystery

It is the summer of 1950–and at the once-grand mansion of Buckshaw, young Flavia de Luce, an aspiring chemist with a passion for poison, is intrigued by a series of inexplicable events: A dead bird is found on the doorstep, a postage stamp bizarrely pinned to its beak. Then, hours later, Flavia finds a man lying in the cucumber patch and watches him as he takes his dying breath.

For Flavia, who is both appalled and delighted, life begins in earnest when murder comes to Buckshaw. “I wish I could say I was afraid, but I wasn’t. Quite the contrary. This was by far the most interesting thing that had ever happened to me in my entire life.”

Goodreads Summary

Okay, now that I reread the blurb, it does sound a tiny bit bloodthirsty, or at least a little creepy.  🙂  Fun though!

So what’s on your wishlist this week?

Barbara

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

