Merry Christmas, resolutions, ch.ch..changes..

Happy holiday season to all and a Merry Christmas this weekend to those that celebrate it.  I’ve been half following my recently pared-down crazy Twitter stream and it looks like a baking bonanza’s been going on.  Fortunately for me, my mom’s insane about it and I get to reap the rewards of her two-day binge with her best friend.  This year they baked 24 (!) different kinds of cookies between them and split them all up, then my mom divvied up her half between my brothers and I.  My butt is hoping for a gym membership under the tree.

It’s early for New Year’s resolutions, but the sooner I make them, the sooner I can break them, right?  Actually, I rarely make them, since I’ve always sort of thought they should be things you do all year long.  Stuff’s happened this year though that’s been making me rethink that and I think I need a kick in the butt and a solid starting point, so I’ve got my red pen and my new Maude calendar out and I’m marking away.  Some are blog-related: do a certain number of reviews per week, since I really need to get myself organized.  I hate feeling sloppy when it comes to reading, even though I get in slumps when reviews just don’t come to me.  More are personal and health related and I need to actually start doing what I’m supposed to.  It’s one of those d’oh things.  So easy, but utter laziness prevails.

Now all of the other changes I’m thinking about at the moment are going to be blog-related.  I’m doing the Bloggiesta in late January and going over my blog with a fine-toothed comb, trying to see where I can improve.  The answer is all over the place, I think.  I have a tendency to mess around with things and change them back and mess around some more, but I’m trying to find the right fit.  I just picked up CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X5, thanks to Amazon Vine and I have to evaluate it, so what better way than to make this place my guinea pig?  I’ve never really played with Photoshop so I’m like a boneless baby working an iPad here, but I’m going to be playing around trying to create a new banner/logo and sidebar graphics rather than using Blogger’s, and while I probably won’t have anything else for a long, long time, there’s some really interesting software in there for webpage design.  So I’ll be putzing around in here for a bit before Bloggiesta, during Bloggiesta and definitely after Bloggiesta.

If you’ve got any ideas for me about what I’m doing right, what I’m doing wrong, what I could be doing a lot better, please (!!) let me know, I’d love some input.

Happy holidays to you all!

We love your comments and do our best to respond to each of them. This is an awards-free blog but we do occasionally take chocolate tributes (okay, kidding).

